Review of ‘The Well’ by Catherine Chanter

I recently received a mysterious parcel containing a book (not that I was complaining)! I had received my first book in exchange for an honest review, which is one of the main reasons I started this blog; I wanted to share my reviews with a lot more people. Below is the review I submitted, plus a sneaky peak at the front cover and description and places to buy:

About The Book

23784289

‘The Well’ by Catherine Chanter

When Ruth Ardingly and her family first drive up from London in their grime-encrusted car and view The Well, they are enchanted by a jewel of a place, a farm that appears to offer everything the family are searching for. An opportunity for Ruth. An escape for Mark. A home for their grandson Lucien.

But The Well’s unique glory comes at a terrible price. The locals suspect foul play in its verdant fields and drooping fruit trees, and Ruth becomes increasingly isolated as she struggles to explain why her land flourishes whilst her neighbours’ produce withers and dies. Fearful of envious locals and suspicious of those who seem to be offering help, Ruth is less and less sure who she can trust.

As The Well envelops them, Ruth’s paradise becomes a prison, Mark’s dream a recurring nightmare, and Lucien’s playground a grave.

My Review

I ploughed through this book in a week, but I found myself having to put a lot of effort and time into finishing this book, and I struggled a bit in the beginning to get into the story line. When I say ‘in the beginning’ I mean the first two thirds of the book. The final hundred pages were quite gripping, however, but I feel like everything that happened was a bit squished into very few pages when it could have been spread over the whole book. I also found that character representations were quite unevenly spread over the ‘cast’ of the book, with some characters having quite a heavy account of their backgrounds and personality traits description, which really allowed me to connect and fall in love with them. The other characters, however, had a flimsy story behind them and didn’t really allow the reader to know them much as a person. I managed to feel a lot of different emotions throughout this book: confusion, anger, sympathy, love, but all of those emotions were centered on the main character, and two supporting characters. The concept of the plot was OK, but the ending was quite predictable, I even saw the culprit of the main plot point as soon as the character was introduced to me.
I wouldn’t say this book was a disappointing read, as I did enjoy the story towards the end, but I just felt the beginning dragged on, but necessary to read to support the ending, and some characters could have had a bit more ‘oomph’ to them to make the book a more exciting read through the boring plot points.

My Rating: 3 Muffins out of 5

Where To Buy

OK, so I know I wasn’t a massive fan, but doesn’t mean that you won’t be too! If you like the sound of the book, here is where you can buy the book (including, but not limited to):

Amazon

Waterstones

Kobo (eBook)

Alibris

Barnes and Noble

If you would like me to include more links to places to buy, please comment below so I can incorporate them into my next review!

 Cover photo and description taken from Goodreads (view book profile here)

2 thoughts on “Review of ‘The Well’ by Catherine Chanter

  1. Pingback: Review of ‘Allegiant’ (Divergent Trilogy #3) by Veronica Roth | BookMuffin

  2. Pingback: 2015 Reading Challenge Update | BookMuffin

Leave a Reply

