Review of ‘The Rabbit Back Literature Society’ by Pasi Ilmari Jääskeläinen

I saw this book in the window of Waterstones and was immediately captured. Obviously I went inside to look at it a bit more and to find out all about it. I then put it back and decided not to buy it. Next time I saw it I looked again, and I kept repeating this process until I finally decided that I had lokoed at it so much it was probably worth a read, and if I didn’t like then it’s not a complete waste. I bought it on my Kindle and it was my first read of the year and I LOVED IT! I cannot believe I put of reading this book for so long! Below is my review, plus a sneaky peak at the front cover and description and places to buy:

About The Book

23340567

‘The Rabbit Back Literature Society’ by Pasi Ilmari Jääskeläinen (Translated by Lola Rogers)

Only nine people have ever been chosen by renowned children’s author Laura White to join “The Rabbit Back Literature Society,” an elite group of writers in the small town of Rabbit Back. Now a tenth member has been selected: Ella, a young literature teacher. Soon Ella discovers that the Society is not what it seems. What is its mysterious ritual known as “The Game”? What explains the strange disappearance that occurs at Laura White’s winter party? Why are the words inside books starting to rearrange themselves? Was there once another tenth member, before her? Slowly, as Ella explores the Society and its history, disturbing secrets that had been buried start to come to light…

My Review

As I mentioned previously in this post, it took some convincing to buy the book and actually read it, but I am so glad that I did! The reader is first introduced to Ella Milana, the main character who is written about in the story. The book is in third person, so it was great to read something that wasn’t biased by the character’s opinion, and I really got to know all of the characters equally. I think the plot of the story was very well planned out, capturing Ella’s if and feelings without making so personal with her as the narrator. There were a lot of twists and turns, and I never knew what to expect as I meandered through the maze of chapters. The ‘set the scene’ parts of the book were not too long winded to get bored, but there was still plenty for me to get a nice picture in my head of what exactly was going on. There were some light hearted aspects, which brightened the otherwise very dark and mysterious story, and they eventually all tied into one main subplot, which I think was very well done by the author. The book tackles many issues, a lot of them subject to one or two characters, which I think is hat makes them so unique. I loved seeing the characters develop relationships of love, hate and admiration, but the best part was the heroin of the story loved to read and I think that any book with a book-obsessed female protagonist is gonna be good, but maybe that’s just me?!

My Rating: 5 Muffins out of 5

Where To Buy

So I immensely enjoyed this book! If you like the sound of the book, here is where you can buy the book (including, but not limited to):

Amazon

Waterstones

Kobo (eBook)

Alibris

Barnes and Noble

Cover photo and description taken from Goodreads (view book profile here)

 

2 thoughts on “Review of ‘The Rabbit Back Literature Society’ by Pasi Ilmari Jääskeläinen

  1. Pingback: 2015 Reading Challenge Update | BookMuffin

  2. Pingback: Weekly Wednesday Update #21 | BookMuffin

Leave a Reply

