Review of ‘The Shock Of The Fall’ by Nathan Filer

I take frequent trips to bookshops, Waterstones in my home town mainly, to have look around, even though I am probably completely out of money! I like to look about and add books to my ‘To-Read’ list and sometimes buy them on my Kindle, which is exactly what I did with ‘The Shock Of The Fall’. It caught my eye in the recommended section as I was very badly judging books by their covers (which I know I shouldn’t do, but the cover caught my eye) and saw it had won a Costa award. I read the description and was immediately intrigues, so I went ahead and purchased it to read on my Kindle. Below is my review, plus a sneaky peak at the front cover and description and places to buy:

About The Book

18967808

‘The Shock Of The Fall’ by Nathan Filer

‘I’ll tell you what happened because it will be a good way to introduce my brother. His name’s Simon. I think you’re going to like him. I really do. But in a couple of pages he’ll be dead. And he was never the same after that.’

There are books you can’t stop reading, which keep you up all night.

There are books which let us into the hidden parts of life and make them vividly real.

There are books which, because of the sheer skill with which every word is chosen, linger in your mind for days.

The Shock of the Fall is all of these books.

The Shock of the Fall is an extraordinary portrait of one man’s descent into mental illness. It is a brave and groundbreaking novel from one of the most exciting new voices in fiction.

My Review

As soon as I picked up this book I was hooked. I loved how the book started with a simple explanation of a girl with her doll, which then leaves you wondering why she was introduced into the book. The book takes you on a journey, written through the eyes of a young man called Matt, who was diagnosed with schizophrenia. I found the book to be an amazing insight into what it is like to live with such a terrible disorder and how this character, in particular, dealt with this. He did not see it as an obstacle in his life, but rather embraced it as a way to see his brother, who had unfortunately passed away. Sometimes this was a danger to him, but other times, the way Filer had written the character, was such a beautiful way of remembering his brother without overwhelming the reader with the fact that he was dead. In my opinion, I really felt as though Simon (the brother) was still alive. There were also points were I felt anger toward characters who didn’t respect Matt the way they should have. Some aspects of the book did annoy me just a tad; it seemed to sometimes be padded out with small amounts of unnecessary information, but apart from that I really felt the main character especially was extremely well written, portraying the mental disorder in a very sensitive yet intriguing way.

My Rating: 4 Muffins out of 5

Where To Buy

If you like the sound of the book, here is where you can buy the book (including, but not limited to):

Amazon

Waterstones

Kobo (eBook)

Alibris

Barnes and Noble

 Cover photo and description taken from Goodreads (view book profile here)

One thought on “Review of ‘The Shock Of The Fall’ by Nathan Filer

  1. Pingback: 2015 Reading Challenge Update | BookMuffin

Leave a Reply

