Review of ‘To Kill A Mockingbird’ by Harper Lee

So in my attempts to read a few more classical books, I have actually managed to find my new favourite read. I absolutely loved this book! I felt it was so gripping and such a page turner, despite being a little bit harder to read compared to more contemporary books because of the older writing style and some of the Alabama accents. Below is my review, plus a sneaky peak at the front cover and description and places to buy:

About The Book

983552 (1)

‘To Kill A Mockingbird’ by Harper Lee

Set in the small Southern town of Maycomb, Alabama, during the Depression, To Kill a Mockingbird follows three years in the life of 8-year-old Scout Finch, her brother, Jem, and their father, Atticus–three years punctuated by the arrest and eventual trial of a young black man accused of raping a white woman. Though her story explores big themes, Harper Lee chooses to tell it through the eyes of a child. The result is a tough and tender novel of race, class, justice, and the pain of growing up.

My Review

This book tackles very strong social and lawful issues through the eyes of a young girl, Scout Finch, as she takes the reader on a journey through the goings on in Maycomb County, with her father, Atticus Finch, and her brother, Jeremy (Jem) Finch. The book starts with childish games, which drives the narrative that ends up being a full circle, which felt really nice to read, in my opinion, because it was almost like a sense of completion inside me, because no questions were really left unanswered.

I fell in love with Scout, as the main protagonist it was hard not too! I also felt for Tom Robinson, and the things he was going through must have been so difficult for him and his family and friends. The characters definitely felt real to me, every time I picked the book up, I felt like I was standing in Maycomb County, or at Finch’s Landing. From what I read of the blurb and reviews, I never expected anything like what I read, even once I had started the book, I never thought I would feel for the characters as much as I did, but I loved the way the book ties up in a full circle, and the whole book is an explanation of the first few paragraphs. My favourite part of the book was the ending, not because it was ending, but because the writing was so fast paced and unexpected I just wanted to know what was going to happen. The trial was especially well written, not too much jargon, but plenty of information to understand what was going on. As I mentioned, the ending was written extremely well, but I think the way the author managed to write such a serious issue through to the eyes of a young child is extraordinary! I was close to tears when I found out certain things (I won’t say because spoilers) but there were a lot of things that also made me really happy, and really laugh out loud as well! I loved the fact that once I had started reading the book, I just wanted to carry on reading, I really enjoyed living in Maycomb County and would not complain if I were to go back there again and again!

I believe anybody can read this, because of the way it is written from the POV of a young child, but still tackles adult issues, I think it is perfect for anybody to get into. It may be a bit more difficult for younger readers to understand some parts, but overall it’s really a good read for anyone.

My Rating: 5 Muffins out of 5

Where To Buy

If you like the sound of the book, here is where you can buy the book (including, but not limited to):

Amazon

Waterstones

Kobo (eBook)

Alibris

Barnes and Noble

  Cover photo and description taken from Goodreads (view book profile here)

6 thoughts on “Review of ‘To Kill A Mockingbird’ by Harper Lee

  1. This book is one I seriously have been meaning to pick up for a long time. I didn’t get to read it for school, which was very sad because I was in a different English class, but I am going to purchase it and buy it soon to read. Loved your review.

    Like

  2. Pingback: 2015 Reading Challenge Update | BookMuffin

Leave a Reply

