Review of ‘Insurgent’: The Book to Movie Adaptation

MV5BMTgxOTYxMTg3OF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwMDgyMzA2NDE@._V1_SX214_AL_

So on Tuesday I had the pleasure of going to the cinema to see Insurgent with my closest friend and my sister. I had my doubts about whether i was going to enjoy it, as I had heard that it didn’t really stay true to what Veronica Roth had originally written. In my opinion, this is only partly true. Yes, there were certain parts that were not in the book, such as the fight scene with the Factionless on the train, but the main plot points of the story were all still there, and I think that is the main point of the movie; to convey the story and squish it into less than 2 hours.

As many other bookworms would agree, when we see a movie adaptation of our favourite book, we would love to be able to see every little detail exactly how we imagined it when reading, but we all know that is impossible, because everybody has a different view on what the ideal film should look like, and furthermore, you would be sitting there for hours, watching every single thing that happens in the book play out in front of your eyes.

Anyway, back on topic, Insurgent, in my opinion was ‘good’. I’m not going to say it was amazing, because some parts did annoy me slightly, as they were not in the book/missed out of the book and replaced with something more exciting, but then I guess the creators, producers, directors, etc. have to make it exciting to make the money. I’m not going to say it was particularly bad either, because the movie did have me on the edge of my seat, or holding my breath sometimes, and it was really really nice to see Tobias and Tris come to life (especially Tobias, because wow!)

If you are a big fan of the book series and want the film to follow the story religiously, don’t pay the money to see it, but if you are partial to a little bit of change and like a bit of action then I would recommend it. Reading the whole book series definitely helps, as I know what will happen in the end and it helps with the understanding of the story, but as a stand alone film, it is commendable.

My Rating: 3 Muffins out of 5

Please comment your thoughts on the film, or my review of the film, below. I’m quite curious to hear what you all have to say about the film, or book adaptations in general 🙂

One thought on “Review of ‘Insurgent’: The Book to Movie Adaptation

  1. Pingback: Allegiant: Book-to-Movie | BookMuffin

Leave a Reply

