Review of ‘Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban’ by J.K. Rowling

I’ve been thinking about how I want to review this book, and all of the HP books to follow. The reason I have been putting a lot of effort into thinking about this is because the books are so well known, globally loved by children and adults alike, and I’m not sure I can say anything that hasn’t already been said. So after a bit of planning, I’m going to try something different, and make this review a bit more personal. Let me know if you like this style of review and whether I should use it for future reviews to mix things up a bit. Below is my review, plus a sneaky peak at the front cover and description and places to buy:

About The Book

8723737

‘Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban’ by J.K. Rowling

Harry Potter, along with his best friends, Ron and Hermione, is about to start his third year at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. Harry can’t wait to get back to school after summer holidays (who wouldn’t if they lived with the horrible Dursleys?). But when Harry arrives at Hogwarts, the atmosphere is tense. There’s an escaped mass murderer on the loose, and the sinister prison guards of Azkaban have been called in to guard the school…

My Review

Genre: Fiction-Fantasy

Setting: The Wizarding World

Plot: Fast-paced, there was always something going on, with all the stories coming together at the end of the book to make for a climactic and satisfying end.

Favourite Character: Hermoine- I felt she was the easiest to connect with, maybe because she likes book and work and studying like me…

Least Favourite Character: Draco Malfoy- Ugh I hate him, he’s just really mean!

Did the characters feel real: Yes- I was quite surprised actually, because I usually prefer to read books in the first person, so I can really connect with how the main character is feeling, but having the narrative in third person made the characters feel a bit more realistic, because I got a glimpse of everybody’s emotions and characteristics. It wasn’t wholly focused on just one person (although Harry was obviously the centre of a lot of the narrative, but can you blame him!)

Favourite part of the book: I loved reading the chapter title ‘The Quidditch Final’  because I was so on edge throughout the whole chapter,a nd it made me so happy at the end when Gryffindor won the Quidditch Cup!

Any particularly well written scenes: I think the chapter toward the end entitled ‘Hermoine’s Secret’ was very well written, as it explained everything as it happened and I found the part with Harry summoning his Patronus to be the same as his father’s Animagus to be particularly moving.

Did you laugh or cry whilst reading the book: I did shed a few tears when the Harry read Sirius’ letter to him, and some comments made were particularly moving but I don’t recall it being really sad or funny.

Was it a page turner:  Definitely, no doubt about that!

Did you learn anything: Oh yes, I learnt a lot about how to conjure a Patronus and fight of Dementors if the need ever arose!

Would I recommend it: If there is anyone out there who, like me, hasn’t yet read the whole book series, then yes I would recommend it, it was definitely easier to understand than the film was!

My Rating: 5 Muffins out of 5

Where To Buy

If you like the sound of the book, here is where you can buy the book (including, but not limited to):

Amazon

Waterstones

Kobo (eBook)

Alibris

Barnes and Noble

  Cover photo and description taken from Goodreads (view book profile here)

4 thoughts on “Review of ‘Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban’ by J.K. Rowling

  1. Pingback: 2015 Reading Challenge Update | BookMuffin

  2. Pingback: 2015 Reading Challenge Update | BookMuffin

Leave a Reply

