Review of ‘Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire’ by J.K. Rowling

Here is another installment of my Harry Potter book reviews, still keeping the style a little bit different because it is so hard to review a book that so many people have read and love! Below is my review, plus a sneaky peak at the front cover and description and places to buy:

WARNING! THERE MAY BE SPOILERS SO READ ON WITH CAUTION!

About The Book

7979788

‘Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire’ by J.K. Rowling

This is the pivotal fourth novel in the seven part tale of Harry Potter’s training as a wizard and his coming of age. Harry wants to get away from the pernicious Dursleys and go to the International Quidditch Cup with Hermione, Ron, and the Weasleys. He wants to dream about Cho Chang, his crush (and maybe do more than dream). He wants to find out about the mysterious event that’s supposed to take place at the Hogwarts this year, an event involving two other rival schools of magic, and a competition that hasn’t happened in a hundred years. He wants to be a normal, fourteen year old wizard. Unfortunately for Harry Potter, he’s not normal – even by wizarding standards. 

And in his case, different can be deadly.

My Review

Genre: Fiction-Fantasy

Setting: The Wizarding World

Plot: The Triwizard Tournament is taking place, so it means there is always something going on, but also foreshadows that He-Who-Shall-Not-be-Named will return gives the plot some depth, and all of the smaller things, such as Hermoine at the ball, and Rita Skeeter as a Beetle Animagus, were really nice to read and give a little break from the more heavy and darker storylines.

Favourite Character: Cedric Diggory- God I just want to marry that boy! We are in the same house, which is a plus, he’s handsome, he’s a prefect, he helps Harry and he stays so loyal and kind to all of his friends and professors, I might have cried a few buckets at the end when they payed tribute to his life at the feast!

Least Favourite Character: VOLDEMORT HAS RISEN AGAIN (and he’s really scary!)

Did the characters feel real: Yes- As I said in my previous Harry Potter review, it was really nice to feel more in connection with the characters because of the way the book is written. I definitely felt that the Weasley’s were extremely well formed, and I really felt for them because they didn’t have a lot of money. I also enjoyed how Rowling created such vivid characters such as Krum and Karkaroff so early on in the books: the character development was immense.

Favourite part of the book: I loved the duel with Harry and Voldemort, just because it was written with such intensity it made me feel like I was actually hiding behind Tom Riddle’s grave watching the fight. I imagined the Priori Incantatem as if it were reality, and when Harry got back to Hogwarts it was such a relief.

Any particularly well written scenes: Apart from the duel I just mentioned, I think the chapter entitled Veritaserum was extremely well written, as Rowling explains everything that has been going on in the depths of the storyline, and make sure all of the this and loose ends add up, making for a nice, well-rounded finish.

Did you laugh or cry whilst reading the book: There were some parts that made me cry with laughter, some that made me cry with sadness. I laughed so hard when they were learning the Banishing Charm, when Professor Flitwick was described to be flying across the room: that put quite a funny vision in my head. As I said earlier in my review, I cried a river when Cedric died, and when they paid tribute to him at the end of year feast.

Was it a page turner:  Yesssssssss!

Did you learn anything: Well I now know how to summon my broomstick if it is out of reach, and I know how to render someone unconscious if I was ever in that situation!

Would I recommend it: This was definitely my favourite HP book so far, so yeah, sure I would, if anyone hasn’t already read it.

My Rating: 5 Muffins out of 5

Where To Buy

If you like the sound of the book, here is where you can buy the book (including, but not limited to):

Amazon

Waterstones

Kobo (eBook)

Alibris

Barnes and Noble

  Cover photo and description taken from Goodreads (view book profile here)

6 thoughts on “Review of ‘Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire’ by J.K. Rowling

  1. Pingback: 2015 Reading Challenge Update | BookMuffin

Leave a Reply

