Top Ten Tuesday for 05/05/15

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday was originally started by The Broke And The Bookish, where a topic is given every Tuesday and the blogger then produces a top ten list of books to fit the weekly subject. The topic this week is ‘Ten Books I Will Probably Never Read‘ so here it is:

1. Les Miserables- Victor Hugo

It’s not so much the size that puts me off, but more the fact that it is a classic of that size. I feel I would struggle with the language used on the first page, let alone having to tackle a book of that size. I love the story though, and I would happily sing along to the musical any day of the week!

2. War and Peace- Leo Tolstoy

Now this book is more to do with the size… I just don’t think I would be able to read something of that size. I don’t think I would be a big fan of the story either.

3. The DaVinci Code- Dan Brown

Too much science-y maths complicated stuff in this book for my liking. It sounds, from what I have heard, very difficult to follow!

4. Bared To You- Sylvia Day

After reading 50 Shades of Grey, I think I have had enough of that genre to last me a lifetime!

5. Animal Farm- George Orwell

I’m not really sure I could struggle though a book  about animals with a hidden message about politics… not my most favourite subject.

6. First Step 2 Forever- Justin Bieber

Why would I ever want to read this…?

7. 1984- George Orwell

Another one I think would be too much about politics for me to handle!

8. The Lovely Bones- Alice Sebold

I have heard this is a really good book, and I tried reading the first chapter, but it just made me so sad and I thought the male character was just so sick that I couldn’t read on unfortunately 😦

9. The Boy In The Striped Pyjamas

Seen the film, and I was shaking and crying by the end, it was so horrific, I’m not sure i would be able to read the book and put myself through that again!

10. Naked Lunch- William S. Burroughs

I have heard really bad things about this book, and not only does it sound boring, but a lot of people who have recently tried to read have said they just could not get through it.

I apologise for lack of photos in this post 😦

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday for 05/05/15

  1. I read Animal Farm for English class as a high school freshman. It would have made no sense if I hadn’t read it along with others and had a teacher to explain the political messages! In the end, I liked it enough. You’re missing nothing by not finishing The Lovely Bones; the ending is utterly ridiculous and ruins the whole thing anyway! Happy reading! 🙂

    Like

  2. Great list! I agree on many of them. As for books that are depressing, I really have to be in a certain mood to be able to read them. So most of the time I just don’t. I LOVED DaVInci Code. The puzzles really made the book for me. If you like historical thrillers (without puzzles) give Steve Berry’s Cotton Malone series a try. Just pick the historical topic that interests you the most. I’ve enjoyed them all. https://www.goodreads.com/series/44279-cotton-malone

    Here’s my top ten.
    http://insearchoftheendofthesidewalk.com/2015/05/05/top-ten-tuesday-ten-books-i-will-probably-never-read/

    Like

  3. I’ve been trying to read Les Miserables for ages on and off and I just can’t do it. I enjoy it when I’m reading it but it is so freaking long and it’s really dense. I’m pretty sure I’ll never actually get around to finishing it.

    Like

  4. I’ve read Animal Farm, 1984, The Lovely Bones. I think you should try 1984; it’s great social commentary (by the way, I hate politics but really enjoyed it.) Excluding the Bieber book (because, why would anyone subject themselves to this?), the rest of your picks are on my TBR! Someday, someday…

    Like

  5. This is a very interesting list!

    What a great idea for a blog post – I think I’ll borrow it for mine, if that’s OK with you!

    My thoughts on your list:

    LES MISERABLES – I loved loved loved this book!! It’s nothing like the film, and that is not a bad thing! I have an life-long love for reformed criminals (cough cough) because of Jean Valjean. It’s definitely on my re-read list. I grew up watching the 1978 TV movie version and so thought Anthony Perkins was creepy without ever watching “Psycho” lol.

    WAR & PEACE – I agree with you. I enjoyed the 1956 movie (when is Audrey Hepburn ever not lovely?!). A few years ago, I tried reading this tome… but the translator had kept a lot of Russian and French in the chapters and it involved a lot of flipping to the back of the book for English translations. That was too much work for me. I think I’ll try it again… someday.

    THE DAVINCI CODE – I have to disagree with you completely here. I adored this book and found it really easy to follow and the best of his Robert Langdon series (the movie ruined “Angels and Demons” for me). I don’t remember there being a lot of math and science-y stuff. The focus was mostly on history, which is my passion. You should give this one a try!!

    I don’t know anything about BARED TO YOU and I share your opinion of ANIMAL FARM (though I’ve read pieces of it as I’ve tutored kids who have to read it). Not really a fan of JUSTIN BIEBER, but he was hysterical on that new TV show “Repeat After Me.”

    THE LOVELY BONES – I watched the movie and it was so sad. I haven’t tried reading the book yet, but it is on my list… mostly on the premise that books are always better than movies. I wouldn’t expect it to be anything less than devastatingly sad.

    THE BOY IN THE STRIPED PYJAMAS – The story is amazing, but definitely not in any kind of uplifting way. I thought the movie was very well done and the book (which I didn’t know existed until your post) is definitely on my list. Have you read “Daniel’s Story” by Carol Matas? It’s a youth book, but completely mesmerizing.

    NAKED LUNCH – I also tried this. I think it’s intentionally difficult to follow, but perhaps is one of those book that you have to try in each era of your life?

    Sarah

    Like

    • hey 🙂 thanks for commenting! This is actually a meme from The Broke and The Bookish, there should be link in the post introduction so you can see what goes on there 🙂
      I know my step dad has read The DaVinci Code, but History isn’t really a subject that massively appeals to me unfortunately 😦
      I knew The Boy In The Striped Pyjamas was a book before watching the film, and I knew it was sad, but as I was in a higher class for English I never got to study it 😦 After watching the film, I could never put myself through that again! It really made me think about how tragic everything that happened during the war was! I will have a look at Daniel’s Story though, sounds intriguing 🙂
      I find with quite a lot of classics that I feel the need to try them at least once, but this one has had so many negative reviews that I just don’t think I would be able to struggle through it.
      Jade 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

