The Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award

Hello Everybody,

I have been seriously busy with trying to read a load of ARCs recently, as well as working full time and trying to fit in other bits and pieces too, but I am really pleased to be able to catch up on a bit of bloggish stuff this weekend. I have posted my review of HP and the Half Blood Prince and my usual Quote for the Weekend, which seems to be quite popular 🙂 I have also been nominated by the lovely Josh @ Been There, Read That and Amanda @ Amanda’s Book Nook to do this amazing award post.

sisterhood-of-the-world-bloggers-award11

I’ve seen this going around the blogging community quite a bit recently, and I’m really happy to be nominated! So without further ado (

The Rules

  1. Thank the blogger who nominated you, linking back to their site.
  2. Put the Award logo on your blog.
  3. Answer the ten questions sent to you.
  4. Make up ten new questions for your nominees to answer.
  5. Nominate ten blogs

Questions from Josh

1. What is your favourite bedside – or just table-side –  reading snack and beverage?

I like to snack on almonds or peanuts when I have them, cake, chocolate, sweets, that sort of thing. I read during breakfast, so I like to eat toast then, and during my lunch hour, when I munch on some pasta. As for beverage, nothing is better than a good cup of tea. Breakfast tea in the morning, Chai tea at lunch time and Ceylon tea in the evening. I like tea a lot… 🙂

2. Is there an author whom, if they are to release a new book, you buy it automatically without even thinking about it?

Erm, well I tend to read books that I have just stumbled across, which means I read variety of authors, however, I have recently become intrigued in Jojo Moyes’ writing, so if I had to name an author it would probably be her!

3. Out of all of the books you have read, which one was the most difficult to get the hang of? (i.e. difficult language and such)?

I had to read Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë and Much Ado About Nothing by William Shakespeare for my English ‘Cambridge GCSE’ and I loathed both! I just could not get the hang of the old language used, but I managed to struggle through them. If I had been set nicer books, I might have got a higher grade…

4. What is the most treasured book – or book like possession – that is most personal and important to you? One with a lot of sentimental value.

I have my favourite book from my childhood- The Great Pet Sale by Mick Inkpen- signed by the man himself, which I will never ever get rid of!

5. As I am a complete Tolkien nut, I must know: what is your favourite Tolkien story? – Tread carefully…

Oh dear, I think I’m i trouble when I say I have never read any Tolkien novels, nor seen any of the Lord of the Rings or Hobbit films… I’m sorry 😦

6. What book were you forced to read in school, that you actually ended up loving?

I had to read a book called Abomination in Year 8 or 9, and I started out not really liking it, then the ending turned out to be so good, I wanted to read it again, but I don’t ever recall doing so.

7. You’re stranded on a deserted island with nothing to do, but you have three books with you: what books are they?

Little Women, To Kill A Mockingbird and The Harry Potter Series (is that allowed, can I have series…?)

8. Do you have a favourite reading spot? If so, where is it? A field perhaps; or maybe your bedroom; a particular tree in a forest; the list goes ever on and on…

My bed! Or my Nan and Grandad’s conservatory… but mainly my bed 🙂

9. Are there any parts of a book that you always skip? E.g. songs, poems, dates, e-mails, etc.

Erm, I don’t think so, because I know that everything in a book is written for reason, it will always have some sort of significance, either to story, or to the reader’s emotions and thoughts. Although, I am a culprit of skipping a lot of the historical werewolf and vampire rubbish in Breaking Dawn when I read it…

10. Have you any writing accomplishments? – Big or small.

Ooh, I went on a poetry course when I was 10, but apart from that, no. I’m more of a reader than a writer. If I’m writing, it is probably a book review or an essay (I like a good essay when I don’t have a time limit and it’s a subject I like!)

Questions from Amanda

1. If there was a fire and you could only save one book, which would you try to save?

As I answered in Josh’s questions, it would have to be my most treasured book possession, because I would be able to buy the others again, but I would never be able to get another signed copy of my favourite children book!

2. When do you get your most productive reading done? Night, day, or does it matter?

It usually doesn’t really matter to me, but if I had to answer it would probably be on my lunch hour. Even though my time is restricted, I am by myself in the boardroom and it is nice and quiet.

3. What bookish thing, other than books, do you collect?

Not really sure about this one… I quite like bookmarks, but I read on my Kindle a lot so I don’t get to use them a lot, but they’re fun to make!

4, How do you keep your place in a book?

My Kindle keeps my place for me, but, as I mentioned, I use a variety of bookmarks. However, at the moment, I am using an old Jack Wills label…

5. What is the longest series you’ve ever committed to?

I am really bad at reading book series, because I usually get bored of the same characters, but I am currently reading Harry Potter for the first time (shocking, I know) so either HP or House of Night (although I never finished the series, I read quite a few of the books.

6. What are some things other than reading that you enjoy doing?

I really enjoy dancing! I have A Level qualifications in Contemporary dance, I’ve trained in Ballet, Modern Jazz and Freestyle, and I am currently taking classes in Ballroom and Latin dance 🙂 I’m also a massive type geek, so I like fonts and lettering and stuff, and I’m going to study graphics at university in September after my gap year!

7. When did you develop a love for reading?

I honestly can’t remember, I’ve always loved picking up a book for as long as I can remember!

8. What book has been on your TBR the longest?

Still Alice and Left Neglected have been on my TBR for years!

9. Do you have a book that you pick up every time you are in the bookstore but never buy?

I always pick up The Bell Jar, which is on my TBR and I adore the feel of the book and the front cover and the fact that it is a classic, but I haven’t bought it as of yet!

10. Is there a genre that you have tried to read but as hard as you try you just can’t get into it?

Action books such as The Bourne Series have never really appealed to me, but I remember a lot of my friends reading historical fiction a few years ago and I tries to get into them but I just could not enjoy them!

My Nominees

I have exhausted every blog I follow with nominations for awards, and because us book bloggers are such a tight blogging community anyway, I’m gonna leave this open for anyone to do. If you see this post, then give it a go if you want, I think that’s the easiest way to get it travel a bit further. I would love it if you could mention my blog if you end up doing this though 🙂 thanks!

Questions for ‘Nominees’

1. When you look at your bookshelf, is there a book that draws you in immediately, due to the title, the cover, the fact that you are desperate to read it? Or is it your favourite?

2. Is there a book you own that is so old, so over-read, that is it falling apart or very very worn?

3. Do you enjoy music (completely unrelated to books but hey ho), and if so, what music do you like? Do you obsess over a particular band or musician?

4. What’s the most amount of pages you can manage to read in an average day?

5. Do you like non-fiction as well as fiction, or do you prefer the stories to information?

6. If you had to write a really detailed analytical review/essay on any book, which book would you pick and why?

7. Where do you tend to buy your books from? Online, local bookstore, charity shops?

8. Would you ever consider volunteering for your local library?

9. What’s your opinion on book trailers?

10. What is longest book you have ever read? How many pages was it and roughly how long did it take to read?

Hope some of you lovely people decide to do this awesome post, and thanks again for the nominations Josh and Amanda!

Happy Sunday and Happy Blogging!

Jade 🙂

8 thoughts on “The Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award

  1. That’s so cool that you can dance! I took dance classes from when I was about 3 years old up until a few years ago (I’m 18 now) but I was never very good at it. I’m not flexible or anything, so the thing I was best at was tap dancing. I’ve always wanted to be able to do ballet really well, especially pointe, but I just can’t haha. Anyways, awesome answers! 🙂

    Like

    • Ive been dancing since I was about 7, my mum didnt want me to dance when I was any younger, I left college and I just couldnt live without dancing so I took up ballroom and latin 🙂 aw thanks, thank you for commenting 🙂

      Like

  2. Hahaha, someone is a tea fanatic! Oh my god, I am currently reading Wuthering Heights, and it is so impossible to understand. The language is so out-dated and out of my vocabulary! I can’t believe the lack of Tolkien in your life – it’s astounding! You should pick one of his books up sometime. Hmm, I think you cheated on number 7 😉

    Like

    • I love a good cup of tea haha 🙂 i used Cliff Notes as I was reading Wuthering Heights to look up the language and meanings of chapters and stuff, it was so helpful, you should give it a go if your stuck 🙂 well, I have been meaning to read The Hobbit, which I may get round to somewhen, but I haven’t read anything as of yet and because of that I am deeply sorry 😦 oh yeah, apologies about no. 7, I just couldn’t narrow it down to 3 haha, I might just pick 1 HP book instead, thats fits the criteria, right? 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      • Tea is like 90000% of my life haha! I Ah, so you cheated 😉 Kidding… I have the Wordsworth Classics edition, which comes with notes and explanations and such. I want to read it through first though, to see if I can get a hang of it, and develop my own original thoughts on it. Deeply saddened by that, but yes you should pick it up. It’s a really quick and easy read, which is good for a lot of people. That fits just fine 😉

        Like

      • Yes, im exactly the same when it comes to tea! I find a cup of tea solves everything (apart from the death of your favourite fictional character!) I wouldn’t call it cheating exactly, just helping myself out a bit 😉 good idea, if you can get to grips with the language, it’s always best to get your own opinion on things before reading someone else’s interpretation. I might just have to pick it up then, sooner rather than later! I’ll let you know what I think 😉 perfect, i look forward to being stranded on an island with my books now haha 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

