Review of ‘Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows’ by J.K. Rowling

So here it is, the final installment of my Harry Potter reviews! The last book in the series was an exciting and emotional one, but I am so glad I have read them now because they really have left their mark in my life of literature. These characters are ones that will stay with me for a lifetime and beyond! Below is my review, plus a sneaky peak at the front cover and description and places to buy:

WARNING! THERE MAY BE SPOILERS SO READ ON WITH CAUTION!

About The Book

820344

‘Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows’ by J.K. Rowling

Harry has been burdened with a dark, dangerous and seemingly impossible task: that of locating and destroying Voldemort’s remaining Horcruxes. Never has Harry felt so alone, or faced a future so full of shadows. But Harry must somehow find within himself the strength to complete the task he has been given. He must leave the warmth, safety and companionship of The Burrow and follow without fear or hesitation the inexorable path laid out for him.


In this final, seventh instalment of the Harry Potter series, J. K. Rowling unveils in spectacular fashion the answers to the many questions that have been so eagerly awaited. The spellbinding, richly woven narrative, which plunges, twists and turns at a breathtaking pace, confirms the author as a mistress of storytelling, whose books will be read, reread and read again.

My Review

Genre: Fiction-Fantasy

Setting: The Wizarding World

Plot: So after a long, exhausting, yet thrilling and exciting journey, Harry Hermoine and Ron set out to complete the task laid out before them by their late Headmaster, Dumbledore; to destroy the remaining Horcruxes and therefore putting an end to the dark and powerful Voldemort. The task, however, with so little information given to them by Dumbledore, was not an easy one, but with Harry’s bravery, Hermoine’s brains and Ron’s loyalty, they struggled through what would be, in years to come, one of the greatest quests in the history of the Wizarding World. The trio find help along the way in the form of many things, and procure the items they seek, before leading themselves, along with a great army, to The Battle of Hogwarts, to end their fight against Dark Magic once and for all.

Favourite Character: I really like Ron in this book, I think , maybe because he played a much larger role, in my opinion, to any of the previous books. The trio seemed to be the centre of attention for the main bulk of the story, which really built a connection between me as a reader and the three characters. I felt for Harry, though, as well, because I knew what he had to do and how he had to do it, which must have taken great inner strength and willpower, and for that I think he deserves a lot of credit!

Least Favourite Character: I, like many other readers, obviously loathed Voldemort and his gang of Death Eaters, but Fenrir Greyback made me squirm with hatred! He was just so nasty, and it didn’t help he was part werewolf!

Did the characters feel real: The characters always feel real in Rowling’s books, but it definitely shone a lot more in this book, and it was reinforced at the end of the book when I was sitting in a puddle of my own tears! I would never have been able to feel the emotions I felt throughout the books if the characters did not feel real to me!

Favourite part of the book: I loved the scene when Ron saved Harry from the lake and they destroyed the pocket, because it confirmed to me that their friendship was just too strong to throw it away over a stupid argument! The Battle of Hogwarts made me feel ALL OF THE THINGS so that book, while I do not wish to repeat what I have read, was a page turner for me!

Any particularly well written scenes: The Battle of Hogwarts was especially well written because it was so fast paced and, even though men had fallen and were wounded in battle, the fight continues to save those still alive, which is exactly what would happen in the real word. I think this is why it was so sensitive and emotional as well a thrilling chapter.

Did you laugh or cry whilst reading the book: OH MY LORD THE PAIN I WENT THROUGH DURING THIS BOOK IT RIPPED MY SOUL APART AND CRUSHED MY HEART UNTIL IT BURST WITH EXTREME EMOTIONAL SUFFERING BECAUSE MAD-EYE AND HEDWIG AND FRED AND LUPIN AND TONK AND SNAPE’S MEMORY OF HIM AND LILY AND THE FACT THAT HE ALWAYS LOVED HER FOR AS LONG HE LIVED! ROWLING WHY WOULD YOU DO SUCH A THING TO YOUR READERS I HAVE NEVER CRIED THAT HARD AT A BOOK! EVER! AND I DON’T THINK I EVER WILL BECAUSE NOTHING COULD EVER TOP THAT! To top it all of however, not only did I have to deal with so many deaths, but I always have to deal with the fact that IT WAS THE LAST BOOK IN THE SERIES AND I AM NOW LIVING IN A HARRY POTTER-LESS LIFE AND I DON’T KNOW WHAT TO DO WITH MYSELF!

Was it a page turner: I was desperate to find out everything that happened in the end! I wanted to learn everything I did not already know about so many characters and just to reach the end of such an amazing book series (even though I didn’t really want it to end)

Did you learn anything: I learnt a numerous amount of things from this book series, let alone just this book (I will expand in my review of the whole series). I learnt that love friendship is sometimes more important than how clever you are or how willing you are to sacrifice yourself. It is important to stay loyal to those close to you and to not give up, no matter what the situation, you must do everything in your power to do what is right. The most important, however, is that you must love, because love is the most powerful emotion on the face of this earth, and it will never falter, even in the many thousands of years to come, it will always stay as strong as it was in the beginning of time.

Would I recommend it: If anybody wants to go through that emotional rollercoaster of a book then go ahead, just be prepared for the worst. Keep tissues handy!

My Rating: 5 Muffins out of 5

Where To Buy

If you like the sound of the book, here is where you can buy the book (including, but not limited to):

Amazon

The Book Depository

Kobo (eBook)

Alibris

  Cover photo and description taken from Goodreads (view book profile here)

One thought on “Review of ‘Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows’ by J.K. Rowling

  1. Pingback: 2015 Reading Challenge Update | BookMuffin

Leave a Reply

