Review of ‘All The Bright Places’ by Jennifer Niven

Hello everyone! First of all I would like to sincerely apologies for not posting ‘A Quote For The Weekend’ yesterday. I was in London because I went to see 5 Seconds of Summer at Wembley Arena last night (best night of my life so far, just in case you were wondering aha), but I will make up for it because here is my review of All The Bright Places that I read last weekend. I will also be posting the book tags that I have been tagged to do tomorrow so never fear, I am still here! Below is my review, plus a sneaky peak at the front cover and description and places to buy: ** Please be warned that the following review may contain spoilers**

About The Book

23357458-2

‘All The Bright Places’ by Jennifer Niven

Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.  Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death. When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the ‘natural wonders’ of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself – a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.

My Review

All The Bright Places is a Y/A Novel about the real effects of mental illness and the loss of someone close to you. There are a lot of adult themes throughout the story, highlighting the most important issues within todays society. The book is set in Indiana, and explores the state through the wanderings of Violet Markey and Theodore Finch. The descriptive nature of the writing throughout the book really brings the settings to life in a remarkable way. The events are narrated by either Violet or Finch, which was one reason why I thought the book was so well written. Then reader gets to see the story from two different perspectives, both are very unique while still sticking to the themes of the book. It was such fast paced story, there was always something happening from the moment I opened the book, and there was never really a dull moment.

I think both characters were very different, and they both had something about them that made me say ‘Wow, I would love to meet these fictional characters in real life!” I loved Violet’s perseverance with everything throughout the book, especially at the end after Finch’s suicide when she went in search of the final wandering destinations. The way Finch’s character was described, and the way his mental disorder was portrayed made me feel for him, and sympathise with him as well in a way, which only certain authors allow you to do with characters through their writing.

It was sometimes quite difficult to know what was going to come next, but there were hints that the ending was going to be sad, but half of the storyline was so unexpected to me it was a pleasure to read something where I had no idea what was going to come next. I loved the final chapter, when Violet finds the church with the letter from Finch. Even though it was extremely sad and I was reading through tear-filled eyes, I think it was so emotional because of how well written it was. Also, scenes that were maybe a bit more sensitive, for example; when they find out Finch has committed suicide, when Violet talks more about her sisters death, when Violet rides a car for the first time after the accident, etc- were also extremely touching. Of course I cried buckets for the last 80 pages or so, but there were also some chapters that made me laugh, and say ‘awwww’ and give me that warm happy feeling inside like a book should (I understand that John Green refers to this as an ‘evangelical zeal’). I finished this book in two days, I literally had to force it out of my own hands to get some sleep, because I could feel my eyes closing. I think, because the book was so fast paced, with something always around the corner, it made it harder to put down!

This book did teach me a lot, mainly about friendship and families, and how much people do really care, even if they sometimes don’t let on as much. It’s a book that really makes you think about life and the world and the universe and everything and everyone around you, because you never know what is going on in their lives until you finally get to know them, and even then, people can put on a brave face and keep secrets. But just remember there are people out there that care for you.

I would definitely recommend this book, especially to fans of Y/A (remember, you don’t have to be a young adult to enjoy Y/A novels!) and John Green books!

My Rating: 5 Muffins out of 5

Where To Buy

If you like the sound of the book, here is where you can buy the book (including, but not limited to):

Amazon

 The Book Depository

  Cover photo and description taken from Goodreads (view book profile here)

2 thoughts on “Review of ‘All The Bright Places’ by Jennifer Niven

  1. Thanks for your review! I just finished my first John Green book, An Abundance of Katherines, and really enjoyed it. I’ll have to definitely check out Niven; I love Green’s writing style! Happy reading! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

