Review of ‘The Flip’ by Michael Phillip Cash

Cash got into contact with me through my blog asking if there were any of his books that I would be happy to read in exchange for an honest review. The Flip was the one that jumped out at me the most, even though I had never really been one for horror books, the description sounded intriguing, so I thought I would give it a go! I must admit, I was surprised at how much I enjoyed it, despite it not really being in the usual genre of books I read. I’m not going to say it was amazing, because this is an honest review, but there were some elements that I did enjoy.

Below is my review, plus a sneaky peak at the front cover and description and places to buy:

About The Book

22070838

‘The Flip’ by Micahel Philiip Cash

Julie and Brad Evans are house flippers. They buy low, clean out the old occupants’ junk, and try to make a profit. Enter Hemmings House on Bedlam Street in scenic Cold Spring Harbor, Long Island. Too good a deal to pass up, but with an ominous secret. The old Victorian Mansion has dwellers that do not want to be dispossessed. As the house reveals it’s past, will the couple’s marriage survive The Flip?

My Review

The Flip is of the Horror/Paranormal genre, which is one I don’t tend to pick up, but what drew me in was the description on Goodreads. The books also had pretty good reviews, so Cash agreed to send me over a copy in exchange for an honest review. The story line is centred round Julie and Brad, who are house flippers-turning old houses into refurbished versions of their old selves to out back on the market- and are working on the Hemmings House project. Julie just could not resist that house when she saw it was for sale, but Brad tried to object, seeing as it was such a big project, and he would be stuck doing a lot of the work.

The story I found quite unusual, due to the fact that you don’t just get the view from Brad and/or Julie, you get it from the ghosts as well. I found this an intriguing way to write characters, but I personally was not enthralled by this decision. The reason being because I found it as not haunting enough knowing what the ghosts were doing. I felt like as soon as the ghosts were given names, personalities and a back story, the story immediately became less scary. Saying that, the timeline of events was certainly unpredictable, as I never would have thought Tess (one of the ghosts) would go to such lengths to get rid of Julie so she could have Brad, and the ending where she finally realised who she was meant to be with was a bit unexpected. It was semi climactic, but I wouldn’t say I was in a rush to finish it because I wanted to know what happened- I was rushing more because I knew I had other books to read and review. The plot was steady, there weren’t times when it moved particularly slowly, but then there weren’t a lot of very fast paced parts either. Some characters were difficult to follow, especially the ‘Sentinels’ as there was not a lot of description provided as to who they were and their purpose, you had to figure that out and read between the lines.

To be honest, I didn’t really find myself completely attached to any of the characters, but if I had to choose a favourite, it would be Tessa, just because the way she acted around Brad sometimes made me laugh- the fact that she smothered him and squeezed him and tried to love him and give him some sort of attention without him even knowing she was there. I guess the characters that were alive felt real enough to me, because the situation before the introduction of the ghosts was very realistic-the couple are married and work like any normal couple would, they have sex, they eat together, they argue sometimes.

As I mentioned, some parts of the story were unpredictable, but a to of the time, because the way the book was written, when Julie and Brad were scared, you knew what was going on because you got the story from the ghosts viewpoint as well. The ending, I felt, was written fairly well, and I liked the fact that Tessa did end up with Gerald (her fellow ghost friend occupying Hemmings House), although I wouldn’t say any other scenes were written particularly well compared to other. I was well written book on the whole, but apart from the ending, nothing really jumped out at me.

So I did try a different genre and stretched out of my comfort zone, but the book was not really for me, but fans of mild light hearted paranormal/less horror would enjoy it- if im gonna read horror, I want to be scared, but this wasn’t scary enough for me.

I would like to thank Cash for kindly sending me a copy of The Flip and here is you reviewing exchange. Thank you for the opportunity to read your book 🙂

My Rating: 3 Muffins out of 5

Where To Buy

If you like the sound of the book, here is where you can buy the book (including, but not limited to):

Amazon

The Book Depository

  Cover photo and description taken from Goodreads (view book profile here)

Leave a Reply

