Review of ‘Organ Reapers’ by Shay West

I received this book from Booktrope Publishing after I reviewed Saving London, and I definitely enjoyed this one more. Even though it was still within an experimental genre for me that I don’t usually read, I found myself engrossed in the story from start to finish.

Below is my review, plus a sneaky peak at the front cover and description and places to buy:

About The Book

23365359

‘Organ Reapers’ by Shay West

Detective Elliott “Eli” Robinson and his new partner, Ava Aguilar, are baffled by a series of brutal murders happening in their fair city. No evidence, no eyewitnesses…only mutilated corpses with missing internal organs. When Eli and Ava stumble upon evidence of similar gruesome crimes around the globe, they realize there is more to the murders, but the answers continue to elude them. In a race against time, Eli and Ava must figure out who is behind the killings and stop them before more people die. But the answers will take them out of their comfort zone and into the realm of the fantastic: another world with a different set of rules, and a leader who has no qualms about killing.

My Review

Organ Reapers is almost definable as mystery, crime and paranormal (no ghosts!) all rolled into one. It’s hard to pin it down to just one genre of writing, and I think that was what made it such a compelling read. Set in two different worlds, the reader journeys with Eli and Ava- detectives on earth- and Tani and Keena- organ harvesters from another world and follow them both as their worlds start to intertwine with mysterious happenings on Earth.

The book starts with the first crime, the first dead body of many throughout the story. I loved the detective police inspection parts of this story; it almost reminded me of watching Sherlock or Elementary on TV (if anyone has ever seen them!) I felt like everything was very accurate and felt quite real- besides the actual murders that had taken place. I didn’t feel as though the ending was in any way predictable, and there was definitely a climax at the end, which was what the whole story was building up to. There was always something happening in the book, never really a dull moment, so it was quite a fast paced read for me. I find when some authors I read create a different world, everything gets a bit too carried away and not everything links up, but the whole set up of this fictional world was perfectly crafted down to a T!

Overall, the characters were written well throughout the book, although some less important personalities lacked in description, this was made up for in the other character creations. Eli, Ava, Tani and Keena were the most developed and the most interesting characters to read, because they were so built upon through the whole storyline, which made the end for Tani and Keena especially moving for me. Surprisingly, despite Tai and Keena being from a completely fictitious world, they felt as it they were standing right in front of me half the time I was reading!

The moment when Tani and Keena go against Master Kelhar in a bid to stop the Harvesting for good was quite a tense scene, and was very well written. I wasn’t quite sure whether they were going to make it past the chambers and make everything right on earth, so this really had me on edge! For me, I really liked the ending, like a lot of books I review, because they are just so built up to such a lovely ending, after the climactic part when everything is calm and back to normal.

I would recommend to anyone who liked reading about fantastical worlds, unusual circumstances and detective crime novels, because, as I described at the beginning of my review, it is hard to pin the book to any one genre! Young adults are more likely to enjoy compared to adults, but if you are an adult who enjoys YA then why not?! I wouldn’t really recommend to anyone too young, because some scenes do have a disturbing nature.

My Rating: 4.5 Muffins out of 5

Where To Buy

If you like the sound of the book, here is where you can buy the book (including, but not limited to):

Amazon

The Book Depository

  Cover photo and description taken from Goodreads (view book profile here)

2 thoughts on “Review of ‘Organ Reapers’ by Shay West

  1. Great review! The mystery genre is one that I honestly would never read. So although this book sounds great, I would not read it. Not only does the crime-mystery genre freak me out a little, since it send my imagination into paranoid overdrive, it is also one that I’ve had a bit of bad experiences with.
    But other than that, great review! xoxo

    Like

Leave a Reply

