Review of ‘Will Grayson, Will Grayson’ by John Green and David Levithan

When I first read the ‘top three’ John Green books (being Looking For Alaska, Paper Towns and, of course, The Fault In Our Stars) I was compelled to go out and buy the other books he had written. I tried to read Will Grayson, Will Grayson about a year ago and I really couldn’t get into it. Whether it was because I knew there were other books that were waiting for me to read them, or if I just wasn’t into that genre at the time. This time, I did manage to finish and it wasn’t actually as bad as I originally thought.

For the purpose of this review, and having two characters named Will Grayson, John Green’s Will is written with a capital -W and David Levithan’s with a lowercase -w as written in the book.

Below is my review, plus a sneaky peak at the front cover and description and places to buy:

About The Book

17208924

‘Will Grayson, Will Grayson’ by John Green and David Levithan

One cold night, in a most unlikely corner of Chicago, two strangers cross paths. Two teens with the same name, running in two very different circles, suddenly find their lives going in new and unexpected directions, culminating in heroic turns-of-heart and the most epic musical ever to grace the high-school stage.

My Review

I’ve never really picked up a book of this genre, if you could even pin point it to a genre. It was a YA novel, set at high school, with a bit of comedy, a bit of music, a bit of mental health issues; everything I feel a YA novel should have really. The book is split, each chapter being written by the point of view of a different Will Grayson. One Will is friends with Jane Turner and Tiny Cooper; the school’s (and quite possibly the state’s) most elaborately gay teen with a contradictory name… he is by no means Tiny! The other will doesn’t have a wide selection of friends, and those who are can be unreliable, like Maura. To begin with, the events in the book took a while to get to grips with, because there were two people with the same name, I got a bit confused! As the book went on, my brain processed this a lot easier and I knew who each of the characters were and who they were friends with, what they were doing and the different circumstances they were in. Some parts of the book were quite predictable, but the ending was very well hidden from the reader I would be surprised if anyone could have guessed what Will was planning for the show. There were ups and downs in the book where it got exciting, but it was mostly a very straightforward. There weren’t a lot of stand-out events.

I think Jane was a really likeable character, and I enjoyed seeing her relationship with Will flower, which was one part of the book that was done very well. Also, who doesn’t like Tiny Cooper?! His character, besides Will and will, was very prominent in the story, almost like he could have been the main character!

Apart the amazingly weird coincidence that you should meet someone with the exact name as you in the most unlikely place, this book is a very standard high-school YA novel, with all of the defining features, which made it feel quite real to me. My favourite part of the book was the scene outside the meeting spot of the two Will Grayson’s, when everything happens: the two Will’s have just met, Tiny meets will, Jane and Will hit it off, Maura calls will to tell him what has been going on and, although the scene was busy, it felt very alive. I did laugh out loud a lot during this book, which is a contrast with other John Green books! I haven’t read and Levithan before this book, but I do plan to read more to see what other things he has written are like. The humour was just what I enjoy reading, not too rude, but not too childish either.

I wouldn’t necessarily recommend this to people who are fans of John Green’s more popular works, as it does have a completely different vibe, and with Levithan I am unsure because I don’t have anything to compare it to. Fans of light-hearted YA novels will love this, and especially those with a sense of humour. It was a great summer read for my two week holiday!

My Rating: 3.5 Muffins out of 5

Where To Buy

If you like the sound of the book, here is where you can buy the book (including, but not limited to):

Amazon

The Book Depository

  Cover photo and description taken from Goodreads (view book profile here)

6 thoughts on “Review of ‘Will Grayson, Will Grayson’ by John Green and David Levithan

  1. Will Grayson, Will Grayson was an okay read for me. I liked both Will’s (gay Will more) and in my opinion, Tiny completely stole the show for me. I love me some David Levithan, so it wasn’t difficult for me to notice which POV he created, as well as which characters, which is probably the reason I like the book in the first place lol. I agree, I had NO clue that ending was coming, like how clever was that! I highly recommend that you dive into some of David’s work. I enjoy when he teams up with other authors, but I feel as though he shines the most when he’s writing solo!

    Like

Leave a Reply

