BookMuffin’s Beginners Guide on Becoming a Good Student: Week 1

BookMuffin’s Beginners Guide on Becoming a Good Student has been specifically designed for those of you who are venturing to university/college, or those of you who are already students and want to become a bit more organised.

This week’s topic is: Plan Your Life With a Bullet Journal

In simple terms, a Bullet Journal is a way to plan your daily goings on without being restricted to the space inside a pre-made planner. You have to freedom to use as much or as little space as you want, and you can colour code and design it however you may choose. I use mine to organise my personal life, uni life, and work life, but you can use it for anything you feel needs a bit of organisation!

Steps for making and using Bullet Journal-

  1. Choose a notebook- You can go all out and treat yourself to a gorgeous Moleskine, but you’ll most likely be on a student budget by the time you start your Bullet Journal venture, so I picked up a normal notebook for £1. You can choose graph, lined or plain paper, depending on your preferences.
  2. Design a from cover (optional)- you can design your front cover or the inside page of your Bullet Journal if you want to make it a bit more personal!
  3. Decide on a key- This is where you can start getting really creative. You can see my key below, but what you put here is how you are going to organise your journal, what colours are you going to use for different categories. You then have sub-categories, depending on what you are writing down; I have things like Do It for things I need to do, Remember It for things I need to remember, Search It for things I have found that I want to do some more research into, and Enjoy It for notes on books I want to read, films I want to see, etc. These are my most used categories, but you can decide whether to use them or not (although I recommend having a To Do category, as it has been my most helpful one so far)
  4. You can use a Priority key as well if you like- Just decide on symbols to use to show what things are more important to do than others.
  5. The Progress Key- Use the Progress key to show yourself how far you are into a task. I also like to have a symbol for whether a plan has been cancelled or migrated to a different day…

IMG_6396

6. Monthly Page- Have a page which gives you a monthly overview of the main things happening that month. I have a section at the bottom for general notes as well.

IMG_6397

7. Expenses- This is an optional page, but it’s especially good if you are not amazing at managing money and/or worried you will spend too much and want to keep track. I like to write the date, item and price, and colour code it depending on whether I absolutely had to buy it, I had to buy it but it would have been cheaper somewhere else, and impulse buys. You can then add it all up at the end!

8. Weekly/Daily View- Set up the next few pages to write your daily tasks in. You are completely free in how you do this; you could do a page a day which is really detailed, you could pre-set a certain space for each day (although I don’t recommend this because you may run out of space on some days and have a load of space left for others) or write the days in as you go, which is what I have chosen to do. I also use post-it notes to add details if I need to. The picture below was taken when I had first started out, so mine looks a lot more full now, but I thought I would show you how it will look when it first gets going.

IMG_6398

At the end of the month, if you wanted to, you could write a quick summary of the things you managed to complete, and things that still need to be completed next month if you have a page or two to spare.

The Bullet Journal is designed for every aspect of your life and is personal to you, so design if however you want, categorize it however you feel comfortable, and just write EVERYTHING (because you will regret not planning it later!)

I wish you all the best of luck with your journals, and would love to see them when you get started, and next weeks post will be on Thursday, and will be about how to budget and stop worrying so much about money when you get to university.

Happy Friday and Happy Blogging!

Jade 🙂

5 thoughts on “BookMuffin’s Beginners Guide on Becoming a Good Student: Week 1

  1. This is such wonderful advice! Getting organised is an important step to becoming prepared for university/college! I was never a fan of pre-made planners, and although I was a big fan of the Erin Condren planner but it was WAY too expensive, I decides to make my own that was similar to the Erin Condren! It has a “Week in Review” section with a box for school, blog, weekly goals, to-buy, do not forget, and random stuff. And then I have my daily section which is split up into 3 boxes, morning, day and night! Its so so helpful and it cost me nothing because I made it myself! I simply print off the pages and put it in a binder.
    xoxo

    Like

    • Wow, that sounds like another good way to plan! Ive never hear of Erin Condren planners, but I have always wanted a Filofax, but when you can make it yourself, whats the point in being restricted by a pre-made one? 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: BookMuffin’s Beginners Guide to Becoming a Good Student: Week 4 | BookMuffin

Leave a Reply

