Review of ‘Gone Girl’ by Gillian Flynn

I have had this book on my Kindle for a very very long time, but I’ve just never got round to reading it, but I am so glad I finally did! Gone Girl kept my nose stuck in from start to finish, and I was constantly trying to work things out in my head!

THERE WILL BE SPOILERS!!!

Below is my review, plus a sneaky peak at the front cover and description and places to buy:

About The Book

13261812

‘Gone Girl’ by Gillian Flynn

On a warm summer morning in North Carthage, Missouri, it is Nick and Amy Dunne’s fifth wedding anniversary. Presents are being wrapped and reservations are being made when Nick’s clever and beautiful wife disappears from their rented McMansion on the Mississippi River. Husband-of-the-Year Nick isn’t doing himself any favors with cringe-worthy daydreams about the slope and shape of his wife’s head, but passages from Amy’s diary reveal the alpha-girl perfectionist could have put anyone dangerously on edge. Under mounting pressure from the police and the media–as well as Amy’s fiercely doting parents–the town golden boy parades an endless series of lies, deceits, and inappropriate behavior. Nick is oddly evasive, and he’s definitely bitter–but is he really a killer?

As the cops close in, every couple in town is soon wondering how well they know the one that they love. With his twin sister, Margo, at his side, Nick stands by his innocence. Trouble is, if Nick didn’t do it, where is that beautiful wife? And what was in that silvery gift box hidden in the back of her bedroom closet?

My Review

Gone Girl was known as the Thriller of the Year when it was first published, and I can definitely see why! Flynn did such an amazing job keeping me in suspense the whole way through and maintaining a strong plot throughout. Set in Mississippi, the story follows Nick and Amy in her disappearance and Nick’s search for his ‘beloved’ wife. Turns out their marriage wasn’t what they thought it would be in the beginning, and as the story goes along, more and more evidence points to Nick as the main suspect for Amy’s case.

As I mentioned, Flynn has strategically thought of everything, and made sure there are no loose ends in the story. It’s almost like she herself has gone missing before! The plot was in no way predictable, and even the ending was interpretable and left me completely hanging, even though everything had been rounded off. The book was spot fast paced I could not put it down, so many things were happening all the time and I just anted to ind out the ending as soon as possible!!

In my opinion, Amy was a very well constructed character throughout the whole novel, keeping to herself and not revealing a lot about her true self. However, I think Margo was my favourite character overall, just because of her mentality and the fact that she was so strong and supported Nick no matter what happened. I feel like the story was too well planned to be real, but at the same time, it was all so realistic. Amy’s character seemed less real, but then I guess her situation could happen, but would take a lot of perseverance, patience and hatred towards your partner. I think I would have to be in a relationship to understand the ins and outs of feelings within that.

A funny question, ‘did the story keep you guessing?’ With this book, it worked both ways. I found myself guessing constantly about how the story was going to end and what was going to happen next, but at the same time, I already knew the answer to one of the main questions ‘Did Nick kill Amy?’, but the way it was written kept on making me question my thoughts.

My favourite part of the book wasprobably when the stories started to cross over and I got to start hearing Amy’s plans and how she constructed the whole escape, without giving too much away to the reader. The end few chapters when Nick and Amy were reunited were the best few chapters of the book; they kept me constantly on edge

From the beginning until the very end I was turning the pages faster than ever, sometimes backwards to check I had read something right some things were just so hard to believe they had actually happened! After reading, I definitely learnt how to escape and frame my husband for my murder if the relationship is bad, so I got one solid thing out of reading this book!

I would recommend Gone Girl to all thriller readers, in fact, recommend to all readers, but please beware that there is some sexual and violent scenes.

My Rating: 5 Muffins out of 5

Where To Buy

If you like the sound of the book, here is where you can buy the book (including, but not limited to):

Amazon

The Book Depository

  Cover photo and description taken from Goodreads (view book profile here)

9 thoughts on “Review of ‘Gone Girl’ by Gillian Flynn

  1. I read Gone Girl last year and while I enjoyed it, the ending completely ruined my experience for me. I loved how the story kept you guessing, and I absolutely adore when my characters are total nutcases (like Amy) but come on, that ending fucking sucked! It pissed me off so bad, I tossed my book across the room! It was definitely an intentional move to screw with our heads, but it just made me so angry lol.

    Like

  2. Wonderful review! I have yet to read this but I’m definitely going to check it out. I don’t know if it will really appeal to me because thrillers are not my most favourable of genres but it sounds so gripping and I like being in the mindset of constantly guessing! xoxo

    Like

Leave a Reply

