Review of The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger

I’ve heard a lot about this book (I mean, who hasn’t!) and I just had to read it due to how intrigued I was. I had heard a lot of mixed opinions about it so I was skeptical at first, but I enjoyed it so much, I will have to read it again (also to get my head around all of the time travelling business!)

Below is my review, plus a sneaky peak at the front cover and description and places to buy:

About The Book

8270119

‘The Time Traveler’s Wife’ by Audrey Niffenegger

Clare, a beautiful art student, and Henry, an adventuresome librarian, have known each other since Clare was 6 and Henry was 36, married when Clare 23 and Henry 31. Impossible but true. Because Henry unintentionally jumps in time, pulled to moments of emotional gravity, past and future. His experiences can be harrowing or amusing.

My Review

This story is a confusing one. A mix between genres; romance, friendship, and time travelling science fiction! Set in America, the story follows Clare Abshire and Henry DeTamble, from the viewpoints of both, and how they meet, fall in love, and live their lives together through very complicated situations: Henry’s time travelling.

Clare is 6 when she first meets Henry in a meadow at her family home. Henry is in his 40s. As Clare grows, Henry changes age, as he time travels from the present to different points in time. It really did take me a while to wrap my head around it. The events unravel before us, making everything unpredictable, mirroring Henry’s ‘problem’ (known as chrono-displacement). The reader will only find something out if one of the characters does, which I thought was great, because it made the novel so much more exciting. Due to the fact that Henry is always popping up and disappearing here there and everywhere, the story was very fast paced, constantly leaving me wondering where Henry will end up next and where that left Clare. Everything added up as it should, but the concept was quite hard to get to grips with so I will have to read it again (any excuse, I know!)

I know it may be quite obvious, but when you read this book you just can’t help falling for Henry DeTamble! It’s the name that caught me first, and then the fact that… HE WORKS IN A LIBRARY! Every bookworm’s dream to find someone who adores books just as much as they do! His life was just so interesting that I would love to get to know him in real life, more than I did in the book. It was very difficult for Henry to feel real, however, because time travelling is not something we are all to familiar with, but every other character could have been standing in my living room for all I knew!

As I previously mentioned, the story was very unpredictable because nobody knew what was going to happen next with Henry, where he would go and what he would see. I loved the parts in the book where Henry would go and visit Claire as a young child, as it gave me a glimpse into her childhood and made me know her character better, as well as seeing her relationship bloom with Henry. I also enjoyed reading the short and sweet chapters leading up to the wedding, seeing frantic snippets from each person’s point of view. Each time Henry time traveled was very descriptive because otherwise the reader would have no idea where he was. Hints were thrown in here and there throughout the book as to where he might end up, but those time travelling scenes were probably the best written parts of the novel.

I was smiling and laughing and crying throughout the whole book. Th first 100 pages had a massive smile plastered on my face and had me close to tears because of how lovely Henry and Claire’s relationship was. I cried so much at the end when certain things happened (that I won’t mention due to spoilers). Unfortunately, this was spoiled for me due to a fault of my own, but that did not stop me from balling my eyes out! I was always turning the pages in hope of seeing where Henry would end up next, or for another romantic scene that would make my heart ache.

I would definitely recommend this book, but it would be more of an adult book (18+) depending on how comfortable you are with a bit of erotica and swearing. Any one who likes romance, a bit of a twist on sci-fi or some good ‘contemporary classic’ literature would enjoy The Time Traveler’s Wife.

My Rating: 5 Muffins out of 5

Where To Buy

If you like the sound of the book, here is where you can buy the book (including, but not limited to):

Amazon

The Book Depository

 Cover photo and description taken from Goodreads (view book profile here)

3 thoughts on “Review of The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger

Leave a Reply

