Top Ten Tuesday for 06/10/15

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday was originally started by The Broke And The Bookish, where a topic is given every Tuesday and the blogger then produces a top ten list of books to fit the weekly subject. The topic this week is ‘Top Ten Books I Have Quit Reading or DNF‘ so here it is:

1. Echo- Lorena Glass

I received this in exchange for an honest review, and I had to email the author to say I couldn’t finish it. I was 30 pages in and absolutely nothing had happened. Not like in ordinary books where the story is slow and getting started, I just read about the main character standing on a beach with some people speaking latin for 20 odd pages, it was ridiculous. The original concept sounded amazing, and I was excited to start the book, but I just couldn’t do it!

25424100

2. An Abundance of Katherines- John Green

This is the only John Green book that I haven’t been able to finish just because there was SO MUCH MATH! I tried so hard because I wanted to be able to read every book John Green wrote and his writing style was amazing, but the book was just not very exciting for me. I may try it again in a year or so, but for now it sits on my shelf waiting for the last half of the book to be read.

17188744

3. Stolen- Lucy Christopher

I got really into this book, and then stopped half way through for some reason, I think it just got a bit repetitive and boring, but I would like to try it again because I have recently heard some good things about it.

6408862

4. Thirteen Reasons Why- Jay Asher

I have no reason why I stopped reading this book half way through. I have re-added it to my TBR and will be reading it ASAP!!

1217100

5. The Good Girl- Mary Kubica

I only had about 100 pages left, and I may eventually come back to it, but it came to a standstill and not a lot was happening. Also, there were parts written in the present where the capture had ended, so I knew that the girl survived, so what was the point in reading to the end to find out if she escaped, because she obviously does!

22888026

6. Severed Heads, Broken Hearts- Robyn Schneider

Also known as The Beginning of Everything, I have heard a few people have said they gave up reading this because it isn’t really the best book ever, it’s a bit boring and feels like it’s trying to be too similar to TFIOS without the depressing cancer side note.

18927641-2

7. Life of Pi- Yann Martel

Why?? I don’t know! I found the first part really interesting, then when he got stranded on the boat I had to put it down because I found it really boring! A lot of people said it’s the other way around and they struggled to get through the first part to get to the interesting stuff, but I honestly just could not read on.

11123032

That’s all for today, I don’t tend to give up on books, I like to see them through, no matter how awful they are, especially just recently. There is another books I tried to read years ago about a girl who can communicate with animals and gets taken somewhere as a science experiment to see why she has the gift, but I cannot remember for the life of me what the name of the book is, so if anyone has any ideas they would be greatly appreciated! 🙂

All cover photos taken from Goodreads. Click on a book cover to see its Goodreads profile.

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday for 06/10/15

Leave a Reply

