Review of ‘Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock’ by Matthew Quick

I was very excited about reading this book, as I had heard great things about it and the description made it sound amazing. I think I should have maybe gone into it with less expectations, because I was very slightly disappointed, and my review will explain why.

Below is my review, plus a sneaky peak at the front cover and description and places to buy:

About The Book

13477676

‘Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock’ by Matthew Quick

Leonard Peacock is turning 18.
And he wants to say goodbye.

Not to his former best friend, whose torments have driven him to consider committing something tragic and horrific.

Nor to his mum who’s moved out and left him to fend form himself. But to his four friends.
A Humphrey-Bogart-obsessed neighbour
A teenage violin virtuoso
A pastor’s daughter
A teacher

Most of the time, Leonard believes he’s weird and sad but these friends have made him think that maybe he’s not.

He wants to thank them, and bid them farewell.

My Review

Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock is a Young Adult novel with some adult issues appearing throughout the book. The story follows Leonard on his 18th birthday, telling the reader stories about how he came to meet these 4 special people in his life and why he wants to say goodbye to them before he plans on killing himself that same day. The events that happen throughout the book are shown to us as they are happening, and whilst some events are unpredictable, most I could see the outcome before it happened. The ending was maybe what made me think less of the book than I was expecting, because it was a bit anti climactic compared to what I thought it would be. On the other hand, the plot was fairly fast paced and everything was very logically written, which I praise Quick for.

Personally, I felt the only character that was really connectable to was Leonard, as he was the main focus of the book. The side characters, whilst having their own back stories, still lacked a little bit of character to be able to fully understand them. Saying this, I did enjoy Lauren’s character, but I feel as though Asher was a central character in Leonard’s plan and he was quite underdeveloped, especially towards the beginning of the book.

My favourite part of the book was probably the letters that Leonard wrote from his future self, because they were quite creative and it was interesting to see a different view of what the future could look like from other people’s perspectives. The scene towards the end set under the bridge, as much as I thought it was a little anti climactic, was written very well, as it was quite a sensitive scene, and Quick did a very good job of portraying the feelings of both Herr Silvermann and Leonard. I was expecting to cry during this book, and I was prepared every time I picked up the book to read it to shed a few tears, but I did not cry once, which may be another reason I was a little bit disappointed, because I wanted to read an emotional book. This book did teach me a lot of things, as I feel it would any reader, but different people will get different things out of it. There is quite a range of character all with different personal issues, so even if you can’t connect with Leonard himself, you may find a way to connect with the other character’s problems, no matter how much you feel their character shines through

I think I would recommend this book, because some people will find it very inspirational and meaningful, and will help a lot of people in many ways, as long as you don’t mind a few under developed characters and don’t go into it with too many expectations.

My Rating: 4 Muffins out of 5

Where To Buy

If you like the sound of the book, here is where you can buy the book (including, but not limited to):

Amazon

The Book Depository

  Cover photo and description taken from Goodreads (view book profile here)

One thought on “Review of ‘Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock’ by Matthew Quick

Leave a Reply

