A Bookish 2016- Plans, Resolutions and Schedules

Happy New Year everyone!! Thank you all for making my first (almost) year of blogging a fantastic one; for all of the likes and comments you left me and all of my amazing readers! This post is designed to let you all know my bookish plans of 2016, including what I want to read, what I may want to try and read, resolutions I have made to myself (both bookish and personal) and new and exciting overall blog look!

What Do I Plan On Reading in 2016?

So one of my resolutions, which will be mentioned later in the post, is to start the year off reading all of my exchange copies on my kindle, of which there are 8:

  • Soul Reapers
  • What Milo Saw
  • Pretty Is
  • Suicide Notes from Beautiful Girls
  • Katherine Carlyle
  • The Last Days of Summer
  • Red Queen
  • Beside Myself

I also have books that I want to read so desperately that I didn’t get round to last year:

  • A Little Life
  • The Maze Runner
  • The Rosie Project

And books that have been sitting on my Kindle for a while that I should get round to reading:

  • The Great Gatsby
  • We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves
  • You
  • The Book of You

And many more that I hope to read, although I will probably get distracted with many new and upcoming releases in 2016! My reading goal for this year is to get through 50 books which I hope I manage, judging on my count of 43 (and a half) last year.

Resolutions

I haven’t really made resolutions this year, I called them more ‘goals’ for the pure fact that they are not what I vow to do, but what I endeavour and hope I manage to do, that way I feel less tied to complete them. I have both book released and personal goals that I would like to challenge myself to in 2016:

Personal

  • Worry Less/Combat some anxiety
  • Work hard on my uni projects/Pass my first year
  • Earn some money (get a job, get my Etsy shop up and running?)
  • Snack less
  • Start Art Journaling
  • Do something every day to make myself smile

Bookish

  • Read a total of 50 (or more) books
  • Read all exchange books first, and within 3 weeks of receiving new ones
  • Tackle at least 2 more classics
  • Try not to re-read any books (with the exception of finishing Deathly Hallows)
  • Add at least a book a week to my TBR

New (and exciting!) Blog Changes

My thoughts on this is that I needed to set a firm blog schedule that allowed me to keep everyone updated on all bookish things in my life, and some personal stuff too, including my previously mentioned resolutions. Starting from January 4th my blog schedule will be as follows:

  • Monday- Reserved for Reviews
  • Tuesday- Top Ten Tuesday
  • Wednesday- Weekly Wednesday Update
  • Thursday- What Am I Currently Reading?
  • Friday- No post
  • Saturday- Quote for The Weekend
  • Sunday- No post (I will be writing my reviews on this day

I have tried to pad my posts out a bit and give you, as my readers, more content. What Am I Currently Reading? is a new feature, which will expand on my Weekly Wednesday Update, where I briefly mention what I am reading. Thursday’s post will hopefully go into more detail, including what I think of the books so far, favourite characters and quotes and what  think the outcome of the book will be. This may give my readers an opportunity to find their next favourite book, or even recommend books based on the one in discussion. I am very excited about this and I hope my readers enjoy it!

One last thing I will mention is over the next week I hope to update my theme and the overall look of blog, and this year will hopefully see some more organisation to the pages as well, now that I have built up a healthier amount of reviews. I will also be designing a blog logo, which I’m excited about, so keep an eye out for those changes.

I hope you all have good and prosperous 2016 filled with plenty of fun and plenty of books!

Jade 🙂

 

One thought on “A Bookish 2016- Plans, Resolutions and Schedules

Leave a Reply

