Review of ‘Soul Reapers’ by Shay West

I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review, after having read the first in the series of Eli and Ava adventures. Like the first book, I sunk deep into the story of this one and absolutely loved it, maybe even more so than the one before!

Below is my review, plus a sneaky peak at the front cover and description and places to buy:

About The Book

24841522

‘Soul Reapers’ by Shay West

Detectives Elliot “Eli” Robbins and Ava Aguilar are stumped by a series of seemingly unrelated kidnappings. Utilizing all possible resources, Eli and Ava struggle to find answers despite little physical evidence and few witnesses. When a strange piece of paper is found at one of the crime scenes, it sends Eli and Ava on a chase for a killer who isn’t what he seems.

My Review

 

Soul Reapers is a thriller/mystery/sci-fi book which explores the realms of how far you can take a book beyond reality to make it completely science fiction. For me, West gets a perfect balance between the reality of real murder cases with the science fictional aspect o having the killer stealing children’s souls. Set in Colorado, Eli and Ava are detective partners in crime who are set toward on the numerous kidnappings around the area. Little do they know until they get deeper and deeper into the investigation that it’s not as simple as they originally thought.

The goings on throughout the book are strategically planned a logically laid out for the reader to follow. They are shown to us, and not fed to us, giving that amazing suspense feature that so many thrillers I have read are lacking. The events become less and less predictable the more you read and find more evidence that could contradict your original thoughts, and the ending was as climactic as the first book. While we’re on that note, just a quick one, WHAT WAS GOING ON WITH THAT LAST SENTENCE, WEST? DO YOU WANT TO LEAVE THE READER HANGING ON FOR ANOTHER YEAR WONDERING WHAT IS GOING TO HAPPEN NEXT? (probably because you’re an author and that’s what you do but even so I had to work after reading that last sentence and all I could think about was what was going to happen next!!!) Anyway, moving swiftly on, the plot line was fast paced, and, as I mentioned earlier, it was logical and thoughtful with every small point of evidence adding up by the end of the last page.

I find myself thinking that both Eli and Ava have such developed personalities, it’s almost like they arena character, so I’m going to say my favourite character is them as a pair, a partnership. I found that the characters were a lot more developed in this story compared to Organ Reapers, maybe because it was an improvement/development onwards to this book. I was constantly kept on edge thought the book, always trying to figure out what was going on like a true detective! My favourite part of the book was when their was the prison break-out (trying to keep spoilers to a minimum!) and from their, the case just exploded and I didn’t want to put the book down! The tenser scenes were written particularly well, keeping me reading to find out what was going to happen, especially at the end of chapters. It all went so fast for me, but I think I did cry towards the end when ‘the case was solved’ as it were (again, no spoilers!) because of what had to happen to resolve everything.

Overall, the whole story took me on another journey with Eli and Ava, and made me want to read on more than ever, especially that ending! I would definitely recommend this book to anyone (not for kids though, some very graphic images set up throughout!) even if you aren’t a great lover of sic-fi, like me, but like yourself a bit of crime, this could honestly be up there with the best thrillers on the market if it just managed to get enough publicity (which is what I’m trying my best to do because it deserves it!) Eli and Ava and their adventures will always have a special place in my bookish heart!

My Rating: 5 Muffins out of 5

Where To Buy

If you like the sound of the book, here is where you can buy the book (including, but not limited to):

Amazon

Cover photo and description taken from Goodreads (view book profile here)

5 thoughts on “Review of ‘Soul Reapers’ by Shay West

    • Its so good! You can read this as a stand alone novel, as it would still make sense, but there are some parts that may be a bit confusing if you haven’t read the first one ‘Organ Reapers’ (theres a review on my Reviews A-Z page) 🙂

      Like

  1. Pingback: Monthly Book Roundup- January | BookMuffin

Leave a Reply

