Review of Suicide Notes from Beautiful Girls by Lynn Weingarten

I received this book in exchange for an honest review from NetGalley. I requested it a while back now, but I’ve only just got round to reading it!! I powered through it, reading it in 3 days! I remember being completely hooked in the middle of the note with a MASSIVE plot twist…

Below is my review, plus a sneaky peak at the front cover and description and places to buy:

About The Book

23309655

‘Suicide Notes from Beautiful Girls’ by Lynn Weingarten

They say Delia burned herself to death in her stepfather’s shed. They say it was suicide.

But June doesn’t believe it.

June and Delia used to be closer than anything. Best friends in that way that comes before everyone else—before guys, before family. It was like being in love, but more. They had a billion secrets, tying them together like thin silk cords.

But one night a year ago, everything changed. June, Delia, and June’s boyfriend Ryan were just having a little fun. Their good time got out of hand. And in the cold blue light of morning, June knew only this—things would never be the same again.

And now, a year later, Delia is dead. June is certain she was murdered. And she owes it to her to find out the truth…which is far more complicated than she ever could have imagined.

My Review

 

Suicide Notes from Beautiful Girls is a YA novel with major thriller twists. Set in America, the book follows June through finding out an old best friend had taken her own life, and looks at how she deals with it and also how she goes about trying to uncover the truth about how Delia actually died. I found the story in no way predictable, I had no idea what was going to happen, and (those of you who have read it will know…) the MAJOR plot twist in the middle of the book was enough to keep me up all night reading. However, I felt this climax came a bit too soon in the book, and the ending wasn’t as climactic as I had hoped, but the mid point made up for this. Having this plot change in the middle of the book did have an interesting affect on the storyline though, considerably speeding up the pace, but still keeping everything logical. There was only one thing I picked up on that wasn’t completely tied up at the end of the book.

I felt a lot more connected to June than to any of the other characters, possibly because I could relate to her more than I could Delia or the others. I found Delia, despite being a very well developed character, a bit over the top and confusing in the way she though things through. The characters mostly felt real to me, although the story hindered this slightly because of it’s slight unrealism. I wasn’t really having to guess what the storyline was going to bring, because I was kind of just flowing through it, but with the plot twist brought a lot of questions, which, again, I didn’t have time to think about because of the speed I was reading, they were all answered before they even entered my brain. The plot twist definitely had tone my favourite part of the book, as it was very cleverly written with a strong element of shock for the reader, because it was so sudden and unexpected. The book did stir up some emotion for me, but it was shock more than anything, compared to sadness or intense laughter.

I would definitely recommend this to any YA novel lover, especially if you are looking for something more unexpected and unconventional compared to the typical novels for young adults.

My Rating: 4 Muffins out of 5

Where To Buy

If you like the sound of the book, here is where you can buy the book (including, but not limited to):

Amazon

The Book Depository

  Cover photo and description taken from Goodreads (view book profile here)

2 thoughts on “Review of Suicide Notes from Beautiful Girls by Lynn Weingarten

Leave a Reply

