What Am I Currently Reading? – Katherine Carlyle

Hello everybody! What Am I Currently Reading is a fairly new feature on my blog, where I will discuss my current read with you all. Feel free to comment your opinions on this book and how you feel about I what I have written. It is really a more in depth look at my book on the go compared with the small snippet I give in Weekly Wednesday Update.

Book I Am Currently Reading: Katherine Carlyle by Rupert Thomson

I am finding this book, to put it very honestly, the most boring book I’ve read this year. I find myself drifting off half way through reading on a different train of thought because the story is so dry and practically pointless!

What I like about this book:

There hasn’t really been much to enjoy about this book, but if I had to pick something it would be the in depth descriptions of scenery throughout Katherine’s travels, and the ay the writer describes the changes in environment she is experiencing.

What I dislike about this book:

I don’t like the fact that there is really no point to the plot line whatsoever. Katherine is just travelling around different places for no reason other than because she wants to. Characters are introduced for no good reason apart from filling out the story, but they really have no relevance, and I can’t really see the plot line developing much more, considering I’m so close to the end of the book. The story is just so unrealistic.

My favourite character:

Well Katherine is quite possibly the dullest and strangest and stupidest character I’ve ever read, not really supplying a reason for her doing things and risking her life going off with men twice her age, where she barely knows the person or their intentions. If I had to pick a character it would be Klaus, at least he had a life and some sort of background, even if he was a pointlessly introduced character!

What I think will happen at the end of the book:

To be completely honest, I don’t think anything will happen at the end of this book. Katherine is currently in Norway, but knowing her she won’t stay there for long, but she won’t tell the reader her reason for leaving, she’ll just up and leave, probably back to Rome to meet back with her father or friends, but there won’t be much plot development now, as I said, it’s too close to the end of the book.

Sorry that post was harsh, but I had to speak the truth if you all want an honest review from me. I hope that gives you a bit more of an insight as to what I’m reading this week, and hopefully I’ll be reading something a bit more thrilling next week…

Happy Thursday and Happy Blogging!

Jade 🙂

Leave a Reply

