A Quote For The Weekend

09896787dde2f268f3a052ee6ff6491d

Reading a book is a wonderful experience, unexplainable really. It allows you to be transported into a different world, a different body, or mind. But that is just reading a book.

Reading a good book is something entirely different. You are still transported and get to live the experience, but that experience then becomes an event; a memory. You can look back in 20 years time and vividly remember the time you read that good book. There are some books I read that I remember the plot line of, but don’t recall actually reading, because it wasn’t ‘good enough’ for me to remember. A good book I will always remember the dates and times I read it, current situations happening in my life at the time, how long it took me to read it. How did I come to acquire the book?

The first good book I remember reading was ballet Shoes by Noel Streatfeild. I had finished a book (the title escapes me…) and was in need of new reading material My Grandad took me into town and into my local bookshop. I was given free reign to choose a book I wanted to read. It took a while, how difficult it was to choose just one out of thousands of others. I knew this had to be special. I made my selection; 20th anniversary edition of Ballet Shoes. A pink cover with shiny accents. I was in love with dancing and ballet which was a big factor in my decision. I took the book home and started reading straight away. I was very confused and thought I had picked up a book I would never be able to read. My Nan too me to persevere and the book would get better, I just had to get into it. Next thing I know, I spend the next whole day reading this wonderful story, my parent had a hard time taking the book off me to sit at the table for Sunday lunch. I finished Ballet Shoes very quickly, and wanted to start again as soon as I had finished.

I have read the book many times since, the same copy, which is broken and falling apart at the spine. never will I ever read another copy, because that is a reminder of the book that made me realise my deep love for reading. It is there to remind me of the time I read my first good book. Just in case you were wondering, yes, I will be reading it again, and again, until I can no longer breathe.

How far do you agree with a good book standing out as an ‘event’ in your life? What good books have you read with a memory attached to them? Let me know what you think in the comments!

Happy Weekend and Happy Blogging!

Jade 🙂

3 thoughts on “A Quote For The Weekend

  1. This post is so beautifully written, I love it ♥ I can completely agree about it being an event – I associate some of my books with certain people, too. Ballet Shoes was such a good book, although I haven’t read it in years!

    Like

Leave a Reply

