What Am I Currently Reading? – Red Queen

Hello everybody! This is a new feature on my blog, and I will use this time to discuss my current read with you all. Feel free to comment your opinions on this book and how you feel about I what I have written. It is really a more in depth look at my book on the go compared with the small snippet I give in Weekly Wednesday Update.

Book I Am Currently Reading: Red Queen

17878931

I was approved this book on NetGalley, and I had obviously heard so many good things about it after it’s release last year. I was a bit skeptical about reading it before I even requested it, because I didn’t know if it was my kind of book. I read the description over and over again, and after my request was approved, it was almost a given that I had to read it!

What I like about this book:

This book has everything that I would look for in a YA novel. I’m finding quite a few similarities with The Hunger Games, but there are also so many things that make it a unique book. Like The Hunger Games, the story is so gripping and it has action in it from the beginning, compared to other books I’ve read which wait until the last quarter of the book for anything to really happen.

What I dislike about this book:

I would maybe like to see more depth in the relationship between Mare and Cal or Mare and Maven, I feel like, even though Mare and Cal had that ‘connection’ when he teaches her how to dance, there could have been more to it.

My favourite character:

Mare is a given I think, being the heroine of the story and everything, but I’m quite taken to Maven as well, with his quite gentle and caring nature, but also his determination to do good not for what is meant to be, but what should be.

What I think will happen at the end of the book:

Hmm, up until know I haven’t given it much thought… I’m going to guess that one of the major characters will die, Cal will hopefully see that Evangeline is a complete bitch and he should be with Mare instead, and something will happen so they end up together, the Scarlet Guard will manage to somehow overthrow the system, I just typed whatever came into my head based of generic YA conventions I honestly have no idea it’s quite unpredictable at this point!

So there you go, my thoughts on Red Queen so far. I’m hoping to finish it today or tomorrow, so keep an eye out for my review which will be up by Monday!

Happy Thursday and Happy Blogging!

Jade 🙂

Leave a Reply

