What Am I Currently Reading? – Beside Myself

Hello everybody! What Am I Currently Reading is a time when I get discuss my current read with you all. Feel free to comment your opinions on this book and how you feel about I what I have written. It is really a more in depth look at my book on the go compared with the small snippet I give in Weekly Wednesday Update.

Book I Am Currently Reading: Beside Myself by Ann Morgan

I am loving this book so far! It is so captivating and strikes a lot of emotion through the reader, both through the storyline and how is written.

What I like about this book:

I love how the book engages the reader a lot through change of viewpoints and pace. There are first person parts, and chapters where the reader is directly addressed in second person, but used as a technique to get the reader to interact and become the character speaking. The writing style is tense and strong, which really captures the emotion of the book as a piece of literature, making me feel all sorts of emotions at the same time; anger, sadness, confusion…

What I dislike about this book:

Morgan uses temporal distortion as a literary device (the story is not chronological, so we jump from present to past, but written as if it is always present (if that makes sense aha!) I wouldn’t say it is something I necessarily dislike, in fact, sometimes it can be interesting to see how the character compare in the different times, but it can sometimes get confusing as to what point in time I am reading.

My favourite character:

As much as the book is written to make the reader feel connected to the character, I wouldn’t be able to say I have a favourite character. I do, however, have strong feelings towards the characters, especially the twins which the book is focused on. I will write in more detail about this in my final review, as it’s a bit difficult to explain!

What I think will happen at the end of the book:

So much could happen, and so much has been set up to happen. The letter was introduced, but never ended up being read, so I think that may play a part in the conclusion, and Hellie will probably wake up from her coma and the twins will be ‘reunited’ after years apart after childhood. As for them switching places back, I think they are both in too deep for that ever to happen, but the possibility is still there.

I hope that gives you a bit more of an insight as to what I’m reading this week, and if you haven’t got this book on your TBR, I highly recommend it! My review will be up on Monday, so keep an eye out to see if my conclusion predictions were right!

Happy Thursday and Happy Blogging!

PS. I would also like to wish you all a very happy World Book Day!!

Jade 🙂

Leave a Reply

