Review of ‘The Passenger’ by Lisa Lutz

I received this book in exchange for an honest review from NetGalley, after shelving it on my TBR. It was a stroke of luck that it appeared to request, and even more so that my request got approved! Before getting round to reading The Passenger, I had heard really good things about it, so I was excited to get stuck in, and I wasn’t disappointed!

Below is my review, plus a sneaky peak at the front cover and description and places to buy:

About The Book

26154406

‘The Passenger’ by Lisa Lutz

In case you were wondering, I didn’t do it. I didn’t have anything to do with Frank’s death. I don’t have an alibi, so you’ll have to take my word for it…

Forty-eight hours after leaving her husband’s body at the base of the stairs, Tanya Dubois cashes in her credit cards, dyes her hair brown, demands a new name from a shadowy voice over the phone, and flees town. It’s not the first time.

She meets Blue, a female bartender who recognizes the hunted look in a fugitive’s eyes and offers her a place to stay. With dwindling choices, Tanya-now-Amelia accepts. An uneasy―and dangerous―alliance is born.

It’s almost impossible to live off the grid today, but Amelia-now-Debra and Blue have the courage, the ingenuity, and the desperation, to try. Hopscotching from city to city, Debra especially is chased by a very dark secret…can she outrun her past?

With heart-stopping escapes and devious deceptions, The Passenger is an amazing psychological thriller about defining yourself while you pursue your path to survival. One thing is certain: the ride will leave you breathless.

My Review

The Passenger is a psychological thriller set around America following who we know to be Tanya Dubois. The first line of the description automatically captivated me, wanting to read on and find out who killed Frank, but I soon found out that you get a completely different story. Following Tanya across America through her different name and personality changes, the story slowly unravels to keep you captivated until the last paragraph of the book. The events are told through Tanya’s point of view, which sometimes struck a lot of emotion through me as the reader, as we are able to get a sense of how she is feeling. No way was the ending predictable, especially not from what was read in the description, but the subtle hints throughout the book kept me hooked, wanting to know what really happened. The ending comes to a climax when everything is revealed, but this happens slowly and surely to keep the reader hooked.

As much as the story follows Tanya through the many phases of her runaway, I came to quite like Blue’s character and the way she goes about things. She is very tactical and logical which made the parts of the story with her in very exciting and mysterious. Sometimes it was difficult to imagine the situation being very realistic, but the characters were well developed, so at least they felt real.

There were certain elements of the story and the authors writing technique that kept me guessing throughout the whole book, for example, what seemed like spontaneously introduced characters and plot lines turned out to majorly contribute to the story. These were quite possibly my favourite parts of the book as they kept my brain whirring and thinking about all of the possibilities of how the book is going to end. The ending was written very well, uncovering just the right amount of information to keep the reader guessing until the last moment.

I would definitely recommend this to anyone who enjoys a good psychological thriller, or thrillers in general. If you’re looking for a book to keep you hooked, this is the one for you!

My Rating: 4 Muffins out of 5

Where To Buy

If you like the sound of the book, here is where you can buy the book (including, but not limited to):

Amazon

The Book Depository

  Cover photo and description taken from Goodreads (view book profile here)

2 thoughts on “Review of ‘The Passenger’ by Lisa Lutz

  1. I really liked the sound of this one and thought the cover was great too but decided to leave it for now because I’m so swamped (eyes bigger than belly syndrome in terms of books!). It’s been getting some great reviews though so I’ll definitely keep this in mind for when I eventually decrease my book stacks.
    Lynn 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

