What Books Do You Read?

Hello fellow bookworms! I haven’t got my usual Thursday post for you because I have only just started reading a new book, so instead, I have decided to write a discussion post, yayyyy!!

Today’s topic is about what you prefer to read in terms of book format. As you know, there are a few ways you can read a book, I’m going to focus on the 4 main formats that are the most popular: Hardback, Paperback, eBook and Audiobook. There are many pros and cons with all of these, so let’s take a look…

Hardback

Hardbacks can be quite a controversial book format, because of publishing times and book weight, take a look at the pros and cons of hardback reading:

Pros-

  • Books are usually released in hardback first, so if you are excited for a new release and can’t wait to read it, a hardback is probably what you will end of reading
  • Hardbacks are the only format of book that come with book jacket (as far as I know) and book jackets are, more often than not, absolutely gorgeous!
  • Because of the material, hardbacks are a lot more hard-wearing, compared to paperbacks, where the covers are more easily bent and ruined quicker

Cons-

  • Hardbacks are so, so heavy! Especially trying to read them in the bath, or if you are tired in bed! (I own Order of the Phoenix in hardback, it is very difficult to hold, especially with one hand)
  • Hardbacks are also, because the materials used and their time of publishing, more expensive than paperbacks, which can make them a less popular choice among bookworms.

Screen Shot 2016-04-07 at 15.05.21

Paperback

Paperbacks are quite possibly the most loved format of book, still beating technically advanced eBooks to a pulp, let’s see what’s really so good about them:

Pros-

  • Lighter than a hardback, making it easy to hold whilst reading.
  • A lot cheaper to buy compared to hardback books.
  • Less bulky; therefore take less room on the bookshelf (more room, more books)
  • Can also fit into your bag a lot easier!
  • More flexible, making the book easier to open (just try not to break the spine too much!)

Cons-

  • Often published later than hardbacks, so if you want a paperback, you’re gonna have to wait!
  • Paperbacks get damaged more easily, so you’ll probably end up with worn and torn covers before you know it if you don’t treat your poor paperback with a little respect!

Screen Shot 2016-04-07 at 15.05.37

 

eBook

Why, in such a technologically advanced world, don’t we just digitise books instead of printing them? Yes, the idea was a stroke of genius at the time, but eBooks aren’t all they’re set out to be:

Pros-

  • eReaders are often extremely lightweight and thin, making them easier to carry around compared to a physical book
  • They can also contain thousands of books, which is easier for taking a lot of books on your travels
  • eBooks are generally heaps cheaper than a physical book because they don’t use any physical materials
  • No physical materials also means they are better for the environment (although a lot of book paper nowadays is recycled
  • Er, 24 bookstore! Who wouldn’t say yes to that?!

Cons-

  • As much as people argue, it really isn’t a proper book! Yes, you get the same story, the same words and characters and experience, but it’s not the same. It’s not the same as reading a proper book you can physically feel in your hands, you can smell the glorious pages and hear them as they turn. eBooks can’t engage with your senses like a physical book can!
  • There’s just something about going into a bookstore, smelling all of the new books and looking at their colourful, wonderfully designed covers. You don’t get that with an eBook store!
  • eReaders run out battery, and you can only purchase books if you have wifi (oh, the wifi dependant world strikes again!)
  • They’re practically toast if you drop them in the bath (unless you have a fancy waterproof cover
  • A kindle full of books is definitely not as impressive as a shelf full of books!

Screen Shot 2016-04-07 at 15.06.01

Audiobooks

Last but to least, we have the audiobook, which has probably only within the last 10 years or so become popular with readers, but why might that be?

Pros-

  • It is a lot easier to multi-task while listening to a book, you can go for jog or do some knitting, and still keep up with the story.
  • Like eBooks, they tend to be cheaper than physical books.
  • This also accounts for the fact that, if you have a smartphone or tablet, you get a free app to listen on, so no special device is required.
  • They are available 24/7, and, again, like eBooks, can be easily transported.

Cons-

  • Sometimes more difficult to concentrate on, especially if you are falling asleep, and you could lose your place.
  • It’s more difficult to skip back and forth.
  • Some people say you don’t always get the same emotions as you do through reading words on a page.
  • Like eBooks, you don’t get the physical book in your hands, which is an important factor for a lot of bookworms!

My Personal Preference

With every book lover comes a different set of preferences regarding book formats. For me, paperbacks are my go to, because I love the feeling of having a physical book, and my bookshelf looks way more impressive! However, if I’m desperate to read a new release, or if I’m buying a book second hand and it happens to be in hardback, I’m not going to complain! I also own a Kindle, which is primarily for books sent to me to review for this blog as I know it is cheaper for publishers and authors to send them in this format, and I’m always up for a bargain if there is a 99p sale on Kindle books, but I generally tend to opt for the physical books. The only format I never engage in is audiobooks. I’m not against people using them as a form of reading, in fact, I think it’s a great idea, but I’m unable to keep concentration as well when I am listening to something as apposed to reading the words (not so handy in uni lectures)!

What’s you’re opinion on the pros and cons listed here? Do you have any to add? What about your format preferences? Are you a hardback fanatic or more of an eBook lover? At the end of the day, a book is a book, right, no matter what form it comes in!

Happy Thursday and Happy Blogging!

Jade 🙂

13 thoughts on “What Books Do You Read?

  1. I personally like paperback books! It does suck that they come out WAY later than hardbacks, but sometimes you can find the paperback version on sites like Book Depository, and they have free shipping so that’s always good! 😀

    Like

  2. I love physical books in general. I don’t have a preference on paperbacks vs hardcovers. I just prefer them to ebooks or audiobooks. I’ve been reading physical books since I was about four/five years old, and I’ve grown to love them so much that no technology can change that. 😀

    Like

  3. I prefer hardbacks just because they’re just so pretty and heavy duty. But I really enjoy paperbacks for when I’m short on cash and I try to avoid ebooks unless its for a NetGalley ARC. I just really enjoy building up a personal library on my bookshelves, not my Kindle.

    Like

  4. Physical books will always be the best. I love to have hardcovers because they look gorgeous, but I actually prefer reading paperbacks. They’re more flexible and not as heavy.
    Olivia @ Fluttering Pages

    Like

  5. I like hardbacks because they don’t fall apart. Some of my paperbacks are held together with rubber bands because the pages fell out. I get almost all of my books from used bookstores, so I have to live with whatever format the store has available.

    Like

  6. I prefer paperbacks as well. They are the easiest to read and not heavy. Though hardbacks are my second preference. The heaviness can be a burden, but I don’t mind really and especially if it’s one I don’t want to wait for the paperback. I don’t mind ebooks as much anymore (I used to hate them), but they definitely aren’t my favorite. I’m not a big audiobook person, but now and then I like to listen to one for a book I’ve already read. 🙂 GReat post!!

    Like

    • I went the other way around with eBooks, I used to love them and couldn’t wait to use my Kindle, but I’ve slowly become more and more adapt to paperbacks again like I was before eReaders existed! Thanks for commenting 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

