What Am I Currently Reading? – The Shadow Hour

Hello everybody! What Am I Currently Reading is a time when I get discuss my current read with you all. Feel free to comment your opinions on this book and how you feel about I what I have written. It is really a more in depth look at my book on the go compared with the small snippet I give in Weekly Wednesday Update.

Book I Am Currently Reading: The Shadow Hour by Kate Riordan

28335819

It was off to a slow start but I am now HOOKED completely! I am going to finish it tonight, even if I am up until goodness knows what time! I stopped to write this post on a cliffhanger, so I’m gonna whizz through this real quick!

What I like about this book:

I really like how the story is split into two stories from different character perspectives, both of whom are family and have the same job at the same house decades apart. I find it fascinating how, as the stories progress, they intertwine and reveal more secrets that make you want to read on and on and on…

What I dislike about this book:

Sometimes it can be a little difficult to follow, especially with some characters appearing in both stories (obviously older in one than the other), and the chapters can be quite long, but that’s hardly something major to complain about!

My favourite character:

One thing about this book is the depth of all the written characters and how well each of them are thoroughly developed through the two stories! I would say I have two favourite characters, one from each story, the first being David Pembridge, who is the ultimate Mr Darcey, and the second being Agnes, who is a fairly minor but lovely woman who is still extremely well developed in personality.

What I think will happen at the end of the book:

I stopped reading just as something was about to happen, so I can certainly be led by that as to how I think this will end. As becomes apparent, not everything that Grace (one of the main storytellers) has been told by her grandmother (the other main storyteller) is true, and the ending will all be about uncovering the truth. Will the relationship between the grandmother (Harriet) and Mr Pembridge bloom? Why did she leave Fenix House? Will Grace succumb to the same fate as her grandmother? Ooh I’m so excited to find out I might burst!

That’s it for today, but keep an eye out for my review which will be coming on Monday!

Happy Thursday and Happy Blogging!

Jade 🙂

Leave a Reply

