A Quote For The Weekend

2dda86dae5070eb7ee79cea2798e1431

Does anyone else ever feel like this? As much as I don’t like blurbs to give everything away, I also want to know something about the book, instead of just what authors think. It’s all very well having a professional opinion, but if I don’t know what it’s about then I’m hardly going to be too intrigued to read it, am I?! I must admit, I do rely quite heavily on reviews before I pick a new book up, just to see if it really is worth reading, and I do value the opinions of fellow readers very highly, which is part of the reason why I like to share my thoughts on a book; because I know other people are the same and like to have a variety of opinions.

A book deserves to have something written awards it’s storyline on the back, because you can’t always rely on the front cover to tell the story, and half the time, reviews left by authors are cut short on the back to something along the lines of ‘Amazing!’ or ‘I couldn’t put it down’. Well that’s all very well, but why couldn’t you put it down? Was it a page turning thriller or a heart breaking romance? What made it so amazing for you? We don’t know without reading the book of course, but we may get something more if we had a small description as to what the hell this book might be about!

How far do you agree with this? Do you like to have a detailed description, vague, or can you rely on just having the author recs on the back? Do you get annoyed if there is too much detail and possible spoilers in the blurb? Let me know in the comments below!

Happy Weekend and Happy Blogging!

Jade 🙂

Leave a Reply

