Review of ‘The Girl on the Train’ by Paula Hawkins

I’d heard a lot of good and bad things about this book, more of the former, but known to be a bit like Marmite; you either love it or you hate it… I loved it!

Below is my review, plus a sneaky peak at the front cover and description and places to buy:

About The Book

22557272

‘The Girl on the Train’ by Paula Hawkins

Rachel takes the same commuter train every morning. Every day she rattles down the track, flashes past a stretch of cozy suburban homes, and stops at the signal that allows her to daily watch the same couple breakfasting on their deck. She’s even started to feel like she knows them. “Jess and Jason,” she calls them. Their life—as she sees it—is perfect. Not unlike the life she recently lost.

And then she sees something shocking. It’s only a minute until the train moves on, but it’s enough. Now everything’s changed. Unable to keep it to herself, Rachel offers what she knows to the police, and becomes inextricably entwined in what happens next, as well as in the lives of everyone involved. Has she done more harm than good?

My Review

The Girl on the Train is a suspenseful thriller novel set near London that follows 3 main characters through a crime investigation. Rachel, aka ‘the girl on the train’ looks over at ‘Jess and Jason’s’ house every day on her way to work. She wonders about their lives together. She sees something not quite right. Rachel used to be married to Tom, divorced, then he remarried with Anna. They live in the house a few doors down from Megan and Scott. We later find out Jess and Jason are called Megan and Scott, and Megan is missing. The story slowly unravels, revealing evidence and memories piece by piece from Rachel, Megan and Anna, and what happened on the night that Megan went missing. The whole thing was so unpredictable with a massive climax at the end, finally finding out what happened to Megan that evening. The plot was fast paced, which made the novel such a page turner, and everything added up to make a complex and exciting storyline.

The more I read, the more I found out about the characters, and the more I realised how well developed they really were. My favourite character was Anna, maybe because she seemed the nicest. Rachel was such a detailed and deep character, but she wasn’t very easy to connect with because of her general demeanour and approach to life, but that didn’t make her unlikeable as such. The story felt as if I was watching it from the sidelines, which made everything and everyone in the story seem so real, even though the story was on the slightly more obscure side.

I was constantly kept guessing throughout the whole thing as more suspects were revealed in connection with Megan’s disappearance, and it could have been any one of them. My favourite part o the book was when Rachel first realised that something wasn’t right from the train, because that’s when everything really kicked off and made me want to read on and on and on. The tense scenes were written particularly well, and placed at the end of chapters which was another reason why I was kept reading into the early hours of the morning with this book! I was constantly shocked and excitement levels were raised throughout the book, but I didn’t cry or laugh hysterically at any point. This was definitely a book that I will not be forgetting any time soon!

I would definitely recommend this book to any thriller lover, or any general book lover, really! It’s a very quick read, but just be prepared to stay up late reading it!! Lovers of Gillian Flynn will fall for this book!

My Rating: 5 Muffins out of 5

Where To Buy

If you like the sound of the book, here is where you can buy the book (including, but not limited to):

Amazon

The Book Depository

  Cover photo and description taken from Goodreads (view book profile here)

3 thoughts on “Review of ‘The Girl on the Train’ by Paula Hawkins

  1. Pingback: Monthly Book Roundup- April | BookMuffin

  2. I loved this book so much when I read it! It was completely addictive and I can’t even express how excited I am for the movie! It certainly looks a bit scary but I didn’t find the book too bad so I think bearing that in mind I’ll be right. I just loved how crazy it got towards the end of the book – especially when everything comes together and it’s a bit like AHHH MY BRAIN. Whew. Glad to hear you enjoyed it 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

