What Am I Currently Reading? – A Little Life

Hello everybody! What Am I Currently Reading is a time when I get discuss my current read with you all. Feel free to comment your opinions on this book and how you feel about I what I have written. It is really a more in depth look at my book on the go compared with the small snippet I give in Weekly Wednesday Update.

Book I Am Currently Reading: A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara

25334922

I don’t even know with this book! So far it has been so truthful and raw, you won’t find anything as a realistic (unless, of course, it’s a memoir!), but I just can’t tell if I’m really enjoying it! I want to keep reading, I want to find out more about the character’s lives, but it’s difficult to know whether I’m enjoying the story hen I’m reading it…!?

What I like about this book:

As I said, I love how truthful it is, Yanagihara says everything how it is and that can sometimes be very hard hitting and emotional. The writing is absolutely incredible, which I think is what has me wanting to continue reading.

What I dislike about this book:

I wouldn’t say it’s a dislikable feature for me, but the plot doesn’t seem to be following any sort of storyline, but more of a set of character studies from different marks in the four main character’s lives. It jumps backwards and forwards, and it’s sometimes difficult to tell where I am in time because there aren’t any markings to tell me so.

My favourite character:

A lot of the book has been focused on Jude so far, so I feel the most connected to him, but I’m also quite taken with Malcom, as I feel, personality wise, we are the most similar out of the four. JB also has an interesting character, and Willem has a more developed family side to his life.

What I think will happen at the end of the book:

Honestly, at the moment I don’t know, because it all seems a bit higgledy-piggledy at the moment, and doesn’t seem to be following a solid plot line, but I’m hoping that will straighten out, or I’ll just keep following the individual character’s through their lives, careers, families and relationship developments with each other until the end, which may not be a bad thing.

That’s it for today, I have a feeling this is going to be long read for me, but I’m trying to get as much reading time in as possible, so my review should be up within the next few weeks!

Happy Thursday and Happy Blogging!

Jade 🙂

Leave a Reply

