Review of ‘Black Eyed Susans’ by Julia Heaberlin

My story of how I came to own this book is a funny one! I kept on trying to buy it, but my gift card kept being declined. One day, after it had been declined, I went home to see I had an email from NetGalley saying it was able to request. I jumped on the chance and managed to get approved to read it! No more struggles of declined gift cards, and a free book as well, what more could you want? Enough of that, lets have a look at how truly amazing this book really is…

Below is my review, plus a sneaky peak at the front cover and description and places to buy:

About The Book

23746004

‘Black Eyed Susans’ by Julia Heaberlin

A girl’s memory lost in a field of wildflowers.
A killer still spreading seeds.

At seventeen, Tessa became famous for being the only surviving victim of a vicious serial killer. Her testimony put him on death row. Decades later, a mother herself, she receives a message from a monster who should be in prison. Now, as the execution date rapidly approaches, Tessa is forced to confront a chilling possibility: Did she help convict the wrong man?

My Review

Black Eyed Susans is fast paced, suspenseful thriller following the story of Tessa, the girl who survived her serial killer’s attack. Set in America, we learn about Tessa in both the present day, and back in 1995 after the trauma. The events that happen in both tenses of the book slowly start to intertwine and unravel the story, but you can keep on guessing until the last second before the final hint is given to who the killer was, and I guarantee you’ll guess wrong! We are shown the events through Tessa’s eyes, and connect with her as a victim of trauma. The story is definitely not predictable whatsoever, and has an amazing twist right at the end, creating an immense climax. Everything is revealed slowly throughout the book so it keeps you turning the pages, and by the end everything is tied together and is logically explained with the most incredible writing.

Tessa was the easiest character to connect to because she was the main focus of the story, but I also enjoyed Jo and Charlie’s character, as they were the females in her life that gave her peace of ind and grounded her through everything, and they were very unique in their personalities. The characters certainly did come to life in front of me, thanks to the talented writing from Heaberlin, and, as I mentioned, I was constantly trying to guess who the killer was! My favourite part of the book was definitely the climactic ending, I was reading so fast the words were almost blurring in front of me, the tension was built up so immensely I almost burst with suspense and excitement! Overall the plot line was gripping and well thought out enough to keep the reader guessing from start to finish.

I would definitely recommend this book to any thriller/suspense lover, and also crime lovers and possibly even someone who loves a bit of science involved in their investigations!

My Rating: 5 Muffins out of 5

Where To Buy

If you like the sound of the book, here is where you can buy the book (including, but not limited to):

Amazon

The Book Depository

  Cover photo and description taken from Goodreads (view book profile here)

6 thoughts on “Review of ‘Black Eyed Susans’ by Julia Heaberlin

Leave a Reply

