Review of ‘Pretty Little Liars’ by Sara Shepard

I had been told that the TV show was definitely worth a watch, but as soon as I found out I could read the Pretty Little Liars book instead, I jumped at the opportunity!

Below is my review, plus a sneaky peak at the front cover and description and places to buy:

About The Book


‘Pretty Little Liars’ by Sara Shepard

Everyone has something to hide-especially high school juniors Spencer, Aria, Emily and Hanna.

Spencer covets her sister’s boyfriend. Aria’s fantasizing about her English teacher. Emily’s crushing on the new girl at school. Hanna uses some ugly tricks to stay beautiful. But they’ve all kept an even bigger secret since their friend Alison vanished. 
How do I know? Because I know everything about the bad girls they were, the naughty girls they are, and the dirty secrets they’ve kept. And guess what? I’m telling.

-A

My Review

Pretty Little Liars is a YA novel following a tight knit group of friends, all with secrets they trusted Ali with, but one secret that binds them all. When Ali goes missing and is presumed dead, the girls move further apart. Ali was the only one who knew, but when the girls start to receive odd notes, texts and letters, making them believe that the sender ‘A’ knows things no one but Ali knew, things start to get creepy. Set in the wealthy town of Rosewood, the book follows the girls as their secrets unwind and they fear the worst secret is yet to be revealed. The events are told through third person narrative, slightly predictable events, but still exciting with a fast pace, climax and cliffhanger at the end, definitely making me want to read the next book straight away. 

It was easy to connect to all of the girls, as their characters were well developed, but I think Spencer was my favourite out of them all. The character descriptions brought them to life and they were all very unique in their personalities. The story, although the events were predictable, the guessing game of who ‘A’ is, especially at the end, definitely keeps the mystery alive. My favourite part of the book was the cliffhanger at the end, because it just made me want to read more. The mysterious scenes were written particularly well which gripped me and kept me turning the pages.

I would definitely recommend Pretty Little Liars to any YA lover, and anyone who has heard good things about the TV show!

My Rating: 5 Muffins out of 5

Where To Buy

If you like the sound of the book, here is where you can buy the book (including, but not limited to):

Amazon

The Book Depository

  Cover photo and description taken from Goodreads (view book profile here)

Leave a Reply

