Review of ‘Harry Potter and the Cursed Child’ by Jack Thorne, John Tiffany & JK Rowling

I preordered my copy of Cursed Child back on September 10th when it was announced and was first in line to collect my copy on July 31st at 10am (I couldn’t get to a midnight release party 😢) and then gobbled it down in about 7 hours in one sitting. Basically, I was incredibly excited for an extension of the magical world created by JK Rowling and I was not disappointed!

Below is my review, plus a sneaky peak at the front cover and description and places to buy:

About The Book


‘Harry Potter and the Cursed Child’ by Jack Thorne, John Tiffany & JK Rowling

Based on an original new story by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany, a new play by Jack Thorne, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is the eighth story in the Harry Potter series and the first official Harry Potter story to be presented on stage. The play will receive its world premiere in London’s West End on July 30, 2016.

It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.
While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places.

My Review

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is the official rehearsal script book of the new play showing in London written by Thorne, Tiffany and Rowling, and continues the magical fantasy genre of the seven books that come before. Set in the Wizarding World, the reader gets to experience the continuation of life from the Deathly Hallows epilogue, particularly focusing on Harry and Ginny’s youngest child, Albus, and Draco’s son, Scorpius. The events that happen were definitely not predictable, and the ending was very climactic. The plot was fast paced and logical, yet it could sometimes get a tad confusing as, having the time turner as a big part of the story, it wasn’t always chronological. Despite the sometimes confusing timeline and some very ‘out-there’ concepts (yes, I’m talking about the trolley witch for those of you who have read it!), all threads added up at the end.

I loved the introduction of the new characters, especially Albus and Scorpius and, because the story was primarily focused on them, their character development was very well done! The relationship between these two characters also caught my attention and being well thought out (again, if you’ve read the book you probably know what I’m talking about!) As a continuation of the Harry Potter series, of course the characters came back to life as soon as I started reading, but also the newly written characters also had the same life that Rowling out into all of her characters in the previous 7 novels.

The story definitely kept me guessing! I had been subjected to no spoilers (#KeepTheSecrets) so I really had no idea what to expect! My favourite part of the book was, aahh I’m not going to say because I’m keeping the secrets! There were some pretty wacky moments though. The more action packed scenes were written particularly well, as were the more mysterious ones. There were times when I laughed and I did cry once or twice as well! The story was definitely gripping and kept me turning the pages way into the night!

I would recommend to any Harry Potter fan who has always wanted a continuation of the characters stories, and who are prepared for some wacky outcomes!

My Rating: 4.5 Muffins out of 5

Where To Buy

If you like the sound of the book, here is where you can buy the book (including, but not limited to):

Amazon

The Book Depository

  Cover photo and description taken from Goodreads (view book profile here)

Leave a Reply

