2016 Book Roundup

Untitled-1

Hi! It’s been a while hasn’t it. I’m really sorry for not posting for the last part of 2016, but I have started my partial blogging hiatus! However, I thought I shouldn’t deny you the small excitement of seeing what I read in 2016, so here is my (slightly late) 2016 book roundup! I really like these kind of posts because I get to reflect on my reading year, and plan ahead for next year too!

My 2015 book list:

  • Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by JK Rowling (5 stars)
  • Soul Reapers by Shay West (5 stars)
  • What Milo Saw by Virginia Macgregor (3 stars)
  • Pretty Is by Maggie Mitchell (4 stars)
  • Suicide Notes from Beautiful Girls by Lynn Weingarten (4 stars)
  • Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them (textbook) by Newt Scamander (5 stars)
  • Katherine Carlyle by Rupert Thomson (1 star)
  • The Last Days of Summer by Vanessa Ronan (2 stars)
  • Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard (4 stars)
  • Beside Myself by Ann Morgan (4.5 stars)
  • Hesitation Wounds by Amy Koppelman (3 stars)
  • Shtum by Jem Lester (4 stars)
  • Not If I See You First by Eric Lindstrom (4 stars)
  • The Passenger by Lisa Lutz (4 stars)
  • The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper by Phaedra Patrick (4 stars)
  • The Shadow Hour by Kate Riordan (4 stars)
  • The Girl in the Ice by Robert Bryndza (4.5 stars)
  • When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi (4 stars)
  • Homecoming by Tanya Bullock (3 stars)
  • The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins (5 stars)
  • After You by Jojo Moyes (5 stars)
  • Black Eyed Susans by Julia Heaberlin (5 stars)
  • All Is Not Forgotten by Wendy Walker (4.5 stars)
  • Subject 375 by Nikki Owen (4 stars)
  • The Fault in Our Stars (reread) by John Green (5 stars)
  • The Killing Files by Nikki Owen (5 stars)
  • The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion (5 stars)
  • Pretty Little Liars by Sara Shepard (4.5 stars)
  • Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by John Tiffany, Jack Thorne & JK Rowling (5 stars)
  • The Giver by Lois Lowry (4.5 stars)
  • Harry Potter and the Philosophers Stone by JK Rowling (5 stars)
  • Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by JK Rowling (5 stars)
  • Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by JK Rowling (5 stars)
  • Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by JK Rowling (5 stars)
  • Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by JK Rowling (5 stars)
  • Flawless by Sara Shepard (3 stars)
  • The Tales of Beedle the Bard by JK Rowling (5 stars)
  • Reasons to Stay Alive by Matt Haig (4.5 stars)
  • The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald (4 stars)
  • Her by Harriet Lane (3.5 stars)
  • Sister by Rosamund Lupton (5 stars)
  • The Darkest Secret by Alex Marwood (4 stars)
  • Confessions of a Murder Suspect by James Patterson (5 stars)
  • Atomic Number Sixty by Dave Johnston (4 stars)
  • Confessions: The Private School Murders by James Patterson (5 stars)
  • Confessions: The Paris Mysteries by James Patterson (5 stars)
  • Confessions: The Murder of an Angel by James Patterson (5 stars)
  • Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them (screenplay) by JK Rowling (5 stars)
  • The Rosie Effect by Graeme Simsion (3.5 stars)
  • Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon (5 stars)
  • The Selection by Kiera Cass (5 stars)
  • stared The Elite by Kiera Cass (4.5 stars)

Which brings me to a total of 51 books this year!! I set my Goodreads Reading Challenge at 50 books, so I did well to maintain a good reading speed! In 2017, I aim to read 55, and I have plenty of books lined up to satisfy whatever cravings I have! I’m now going to go through which books were my top 5, my bottom 5 and the authors I plan on reading again next year…

Top 5 books (in order):

5. The Girl In The Ice

28233082

4. Confessions of a Murder Suspect

img_0039

3. Black Eyed Susans

23746004

2. Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them (screenplay)

30030950

and the winner is…

e,e

Least Favourite 5 books (in order):

5. Her

her

4. The Last Days of Summer

26514672

3. Hesitation Wounds

25622463

2. Homecoming

29382395

and the loser is…

24388434

Top 5 authors I enjoyed so much I want to read them again:

5. Kiera Cass

4. Robert Bryndza

3. Julia Heaberlin

2. Nicola Yoon

and… James Patterson

So that was my 2016 year of books! I hope you all had a wonderful Christmas and a happy new year, and here’s to another amazing and positively bookish 2017!

Happy New Year and Happy Blogging!

Until next year…

Jade 🙂

 

One thought on “2016 Book Roundup

Leave a Reply

