Captivating Covers

TTT_post_graphic_txt

Hello fellow bookworms! Since coming back to blogging, I’ve been trying to build my post schedule a bit more to give you all the most content I can without bombarding myself with work, but one thing I did really miss writing was Top Ten Tuesday.

What is Top Ten Tuesday?

Top Ten Tuesday was originally started by The Broke And The Bookish, where a topic is given every Tuesday and the blogger then produces a top ten list of books to fit the weekly subject. The hosts are currently on a break from TTT, so I’ve decided to go back through the topic archives to find things to write about until we begin again for real. The topic this week is ‘Favourite Covers‘. Studying graphic design, I am constantly attracted to books because of their beautiful covers, resulting in a lot of ‘cover buys’ but I do still hope to enjoy them when I get to reading them! Here are just a few of my favourites…

Caraval by Stephanie Garber

30964236

It’s just so gorgeous, the metallic, shiny cover caught my eye immediately, and the dual colour spine is beautiful (it looks lovely naked as well, I must say!)

 

 

 

The Infernal Devices Books 1-3 by Cassandra Clare

Not only are these covers really pretty, especially in person, they are also extremely good books as well, highly recommend!

Heartless by Marissa Meyer

31458203

Was this a cover buy? Um, maybe every so slightly, it was the first thing that caught my eye when I first saw it, but after hearing it was based on the Queen of Hearts from Alice in Wonderland, I had to have it! I love the Alice stories and I am very excited to read this one!

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

23395680

I cannot get over how incredible this cover design is! The paperback is beautiful enough, but the hardcover had me in a weird trance making strange noises because I just couldn’t get over how anyone can create something this amazing! The hardcover comes with a jacket made of some sort of plastic/acetate material, which is printed on, with gaps to see through to writings on the actual hard cover. Definitely a cover buy, although I have heard it is a very good book as well!

Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

e,e

I always get so excited seeing this book in the store, not only because it’s such an amazing book(!!) but also because the cover is just on point and really captures the story. I was so upset when they replaced the cover with THE MOVIE TIE IN EDITION! WHY? WHY? WHY??!!!!

 

The Essex Serpent by Sarah Perry

33542231

There is no denying that this was a cover buy for me, but I would hate to buy a book and not even like the premise for the book, I’m just… er… waiting for the right time. I will read it, it does sound like an interesting story, but the Waterstones Special Edition is beautiful and shiny and ahhhh!

 

Fantastic Beasts and Where To Find Them Screenplay by JK Rowling

30030950

Why are MinaLima such perfect designers?! Everything they have done for the Harry Potter series, and now this, just shows how much attention they pay to the smaller details! This is another book that is so incredibly shiny, I can’t help but stare at it (also another one that is particularly captivating naked!)

 

All the Birds in the Sky by Charlie Jane Anders

25372801

The colours, the pattern, the typography, is just divine when it comes together like this! This was possibly a cover buy, but I hope to enjoy the story as well.

 

 

 

 

The Sun Is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon

28763485

Why are all of Nicola Yoon’s books so damn beautiful?! Honestly, I love the colours with the white background which makes them so attractive!

 

 

 

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee (Vintage Classics edition)

169182

And finally, one of my all time favourite classics, and this is my favourite cover out of the many editions I own of this book! It’s minimalistic, very simple but so striking and beautifully designed!

 

 

 

 

 

I have 48 books in my Beautiful Covers shelf on Goodreads, so narrowing it down to 10 was pretty tough, but I managed, just about!

What are some of your favourite covers? Any of your beauties on this list? Also, is anyone else a cover buyer like me (it’s sometimes unfortunate, but rarely!) Let me know in the comments!

Until next time…

Jade 🙂

7 thoughts on “Captivating Covers

Leave a Reply

