The Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag

TFTags_post_graphic_txt

Hello fellow bookworms! Today I’m doing the Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag, where I’m basically going to freak out about all the books I’ve read so far this year, all the books I haven’t got to reading yet, and all the books I’m super excited about reading in the coming months. I first saw this tag done by Cait over on Paper Fury, so go check out her post as well if you haven’t already!

It was great to reflect back on the year so far, I’m two books behind on my reading schedule for the year so far (damn you, reading slumps) but I’m in a good position to reach my end of year goal if I read some slightly shorter books, because it’s been a year of chunky books so far! So without any more rambling, let’s get on with the tag!

The Best Book of the Year So Far

WHY DO PEOPLE FORCE US TO MAKE THESE DECISIONS?! Well I’m not necessarily being forced, but it was really tough to choose, so I narrowed it down to two…

16068905 img_0185-2

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Fangirl has been one of the only contemporary novels I’ve read so far this year, although I do plan to read more! I fell in love wih the characters and their relationships, and would recommend to anyone and everyone!

City of Glass by Cassandra Clare

City of Glass was difficult to choose out of all of the Shadowhunter books I’ve read (they make up almost half of my read count this year!!) but I feel like it had a really nice, rounded off ending where the series could have finished (thank goodness it didn’t) and everything was so action-packed and shocking and very, very good for anyone who ships Clace (yes! yes! yes!) If I could though, I would say The Mortal Instruments is my favourite book of the year. Can that be a thing? Can we get a bind up please, I don’t care if it comes out looking like a book cube!

Best Sequel

I’ve read plenty of sequels so far this year, but one recent one truly stands out as one I cannot deprive of this high honour, and that is…

los

Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare

OH MY GOSH THIS BOOK WAS INCREDIBLE! I’ve never been much of a fantasy person, with the exception of Harry Potter, but the Shadowhunter Chronicles has completely transported me into this amazing world, and the most recent book from Cassie is no exception! A mix between fantasy and mystery made it so captivating and I fell in love with the characters from Lady Midnight all over again! If you want to read this book, however, then please beware, it will envelop you with feelings and you will finish it curled up like a gerbil for at least an hour afterwards. I reviewed this one if you wanna give it a read!

New Releases I Haven’t Read But Want To

Yes, plural ‘releases’, because blimey I have some catching up to do! Here are 4 books released so far in 2017 I haven’t read yet, all of which are sitting on my shelf, waiting to be given the love I hear they deserve!

One of Us Is Lying by Karen M. McManus

I’ve heard mixed, but mainly great things about this book, and I can’t wait to dive into this YA mystery that promises to keep me guessing until the very last page.

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

John Green blurbed it which meant I had to read it! I have heard nothing but high praise for this book, so I hope to enjoy it when I finally get round to reading it.

Heartless by Marissa Meyer

Alice in Wonderland spin off? I’m in! I love Alice in Wonderland, and I can’t wait to see what Marissa Meyer does with this beloved children’s classic (apparently it’s heart-breaking, and those are my favourite kinds of books!)

Caraval by Stephanie Garber

The premise of this book excites me greatly, and everyone is raving about it, so I hope I’m going to love it too!

Most Anticipated Release for Autumn/Winter

This one was easy, no questions asked, and this is also where the ‘freak-out’ part if this post comes in, so be prepared…

img_0188
Turtles All The Way Down by John Green

JOHN GREEN IS RELEASING A NEW BOOK THIS IS NOT A DRILL THIS IS ACTUALLY HAPPENING HELP ME I HAVE NOT RECOVERED FROM TFIOS YET!!! Can you tell I’m excited? John Green might possibly be one of my all time favourite authors and when he announced TATWD I was literally crying and had my copy pre-ordered from Waterstones within 2 minutes! Counting down the days until October 10th!

Biggest Disappointment of the Year So Far

What a way to kill the mood, but we have to talk about the bad books to appreciate the good, haven’t we? I’ve had two slightly disappointing reads so far this year, mainly because they had so much hype around them which I just didn’t understand when I was reading them. Those books were…

HIAYLF 1217100
History Is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera

I’ve only just recently read this one, but after hearing amazing things about this book and the author’s other works, I was really excited to read it. Also, Nicola Yoon and Patrick Ness, both of whom have released books that I have loved, have blurbed it and said it was heartbreaking and would make me cry, and we’ve already established that’s what I like in a book. Unfortunately I neither cried nor was heartbroken, does that make me a cold-hearted person? If you fancy reading more about what I thought of this book, I did write a review on it which you can read if you want to!

Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

Another book I had heard really good things about. I tried reading it a few years back just after it had been released, but I just couldn’t get into it. When the hype resurfaced with the coming of the TV show, I thought I should probably give it another shot. Needless to say this time was not much better than the last, apart from the fact that I did manage to actually finish it this time! I just found it didn’t really come to much of a climax, and I’ve heard the TV show is so much better than the book because of this. Oh well!

Biggest Surprise of the Year

Ah, we’re lifting the spirits back up again, that’s better, isn’t it! While I have been surprisingly disappointed with books, I have also been surprisingly satisfied as well. Fortunately, my surprising pick for this tag led me on to a whole array of other books that has had me hooked and pulled in too deep to climb out now! Can you guess what book started it all off…?

2261214

City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

If you read my ‘Shadowhunter Journey’ post, I talked about how I bought the entire box set of The Mortal Instruments just after Christmas last year, not knowing at all whether I would enjoy it not. My sister was watching the show on Netflix at the time, and had said it was good, but she wasn’t sure it was my sort of thing. The box set deal was just too good to resist though, so I thought I should at least try the first one out… Here I am 11 books later, having devoured all of the novels from 3 series so far, and with the spin off books to be read on my shelf! I was so surprised at how amazing this series was, and why I hadn’t gotten to it sooner! This brings me on to the next question…

New Favourite Author

Cassandra Clare, no question! 11 out of the 27 books I have read so far this year have been hers, if you wanted the statistics.

New Favourite Character

Of course, I have met so many new characters so far this year, and some I have spent a considerably amount of time with (and possibly planned our future wedding, house, and lives together)! There are three men on this list, yes, male characters, does this surprise you? Do we not all fall in love with fictional boys from time to time?

Jem Carstairs

From what I had heard, Will Herondale was the charming one in The Infernal Devices, and I would fall in love with him instantly. Surprisingly, this wasn’t the case, because I immediately fell for Jem Carstairs. OH MY GOSH, I cannot explain how much I love Jem, and how distraught I was when certain events happened in Clockwork Princess. However, he does make appearances elsewhere in other books, so I am eternally grateful to Cassie Clare for writing more Jem for me (and all the other Jem fans out there!)

Levi from Fangirl

Levi is my idea of the perfect guy (besides maybe the partying and the little hiccup in the middle of the book). He is just always so smiley and happy and adorable, it was hard for me not to fall in love with him. Cath was such a relatable character for me in Fangirl, and  I couldn’t help falling for Levi just like she did!

Jace Herondale

I am going to be completely honest now. I cannot remember the last time I fell so hard for a fictional character!! Augustus from TFIOS was a book boyfriend of mine (and still very much is) but oh my gosh Jace can be my book husband to infinity and beyond! I would literally go crazy every time I read about him, and imagined myself as Clary throughout the entire series in hope that I could disappear into the pages and love him with all my heart. Move over Augustus Waters (that was really difficult for me to write!) but Jace is my one and only for life (was that too dramatic?)

Book That Made Me Cry

Now this is what I’m talking about! I love a good cry when reading a book, and the books I’m about to talk about were perfect for just that…

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

I got through this book in a day. ONE DAY! Ok, yes, it’s a short book, but I was working in between that as well, and still managed to get it finished without reading it in one sitting. By the end, I was complete and utter mess! I was sobbing so hard, and I kid you not, I have tear stains on the pages. If that’s not a sign of a good book, I don’t know what is!

City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare

Going through this book and knowing it was the final book in the series, I was constantly wondering when I was going to get to the devastation and heartbreak that usually comes with final books (Deathly Hallows is a great example!) As I was reading, I found funny parts, I found cute parts, I found oh-my-gosh-Clace-I-cannot-deal-with-this parts that made me slightly too excited, but never anything drastic enough to make me cry. However, the last few chapters, I was balling! When the thing took a certain character’s things away so he couldn’t remember the other things (trying for the non-spoiler option here!) I just couldn’t stop the tears! They were coming out my eyes like the Niagra Falls, I was that heart-broken. Okay, so no dramatic deaths, but this one really hit me in the feelings!

Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare

This was very similar to CoHF, apart from the fact it wasn’t the end of the series. I knew there would be deaths, Cassie had tweeted about how many there were, but how devastating they would be, I had no idea, and I was not prepared! I went through the book, shedding a tear here or there but not sobbing terribly until the last few pages which ripped my heart out and left a hole in my chest that will be there for the next two years waiting for the sequel!

Books That Made Me Happy

On a more cheerful note, I have read some happy books this year so far as well, and my favourite one that had me grinning silly was…

16068905

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

This was such an adorable contemporary read, and the characters were so relatable. There were some scenes where I was grinning so hard my face hurt because I just couldn’t help loving Cath and Levi’s relationship. There were some happy tears at the end as well, again because it was so relatable! I have to read this one again and again!

Most Beautiful Book So Far

Being a bookworm who is constantly admiring covers and sometimes unnecessarily buying books because of how gorgeous they are, I was surprised when I could only find 2 books I have read so far this year that I wanted to put on the list (I’m clearly a picky person when it comes to cover design!)

img_0172 los

Lady Midnight and Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare

And Lord of Shadows appears again for the final time in this tag! These books are even more beautiful in person, with a gorgeous metallic shine and lovely matching spines. I love everything about these covers, from the typography to the clean photo editing and smaller details.

I hope you have enjoyed this (slightly longer than planned) tag post! I hope to do a tag once a month, because they are so much fun to write and reflect back on what I’ve read and myself as a reader as well.

What’s your favourite book so far this year? Do you have any new favourite authors, or characters you’ve fallen in love with? Let me know in the comments!

Until next time…

Jade 🙂

 

8 thoughts on “The Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag

  1. I am SO EXCITED for John Green’s new book!!!! I honestly couldn’t even believe it when he announced that it was being released…. it’s been so long since TFiOS!!!I also pre-ordered it and I can’t wait until October ❤ 😀

    Like

    • Ahhh that’s so strange! I put off reading Fangirl for so long but now I just want to read it over and over again! I read my sister’s copy so may have to treat myself to a copy myself!

      Like

  2. Oh my gosh…A Monster Calls made me cry a lot as well. The last few chapters had me sobbing like a baby and I never cry during books. I really need to read Lady Midnight. I’ve heard so many good things about it and seeing it here…I feel like I’m missing out! I hope you have a fantastic second half of the year 🙂

    Like

  3. I am SO GLAD you are as excited as I am about John Green’s new book. It has been too long since we read anything new by him and I miss it soooo much. I’m so glad to find someone who loves it as much as I did ❤ ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

