I’m on Etsy! A Little Bit About My Journey…

Hello fellow bookworms! A few days ago I made an exciting announcement over on my Instagram, letting all my lovely followers know that I am now open for business on Etsy!

I’ve kept this project on the down low, because I constantly doubted my ability to make it this far, but after much perseverance and belief in myself, I have created my own small product range for my shop, The Literary Artisan.

Artboard 3-100

The purpose of this shop is to bring you handmade paper cut bookmarks with literary quotes, with the option to customise with your own chosen quote if you wish. I will provide a link at the end of this post for anyone who is interested, and I will be expanding my product range in the coming weeks!

This has been a very interesting, stressful, yet exciting process, and I thought I would just share with you a little snippet about why I joined Etsy and how I went about setting up my shop, through the research, branding, design, and production stages…

The idea came to me when I was struggling to find work experience, which was required as part of my university course. I had already completed a weeks worth of experience in London, but it wasn’t enough. I knew I had to take matters into my own hands and setting up an Etsy shop is something that I’ve always wanted to do. So I sat down and drafted ideas, and made a business plan. It felt so amazing to have an idea of how I wanted to use my summer to gain experience, and how to use what I enjoy the most in life, and on my course, and combine them to create products. I completed a lot of research into selling on Etsy, such as seller policies and online selling laws, before even starting to develop designs. I wanted to know exactly what I was getting into, and how much work I had ahead of me.

Then I needed a name, and oh my gosh I think this was the toughest part of the process. It took me a fair amount of time, but after trying to combine so many different aspects of what I wanted to do, and what I wanted to sell, The Literary Artisan kind of stuck (it was lot better than some of the earlier names). It embodied the theme of what I wanted to base my product range around, which was literature, while creating a professional sense of carefully hand crafted, one-of-a-kind products.

While ideas for products were zooming around in my brain, it still wasn’t time to start the production process. I had to brand my store to have a stable base for what I wanted from the store, and what I wanted the brand to embody. I worked on my brand values, and completed several logo trials with colour schemes before finalising these to have a completed strategy for the store.

Finally, it was time to start designing the products! It was lot more difficult than I first anticipated. I am not an illustrator at all, so I had to find a way to communicate what I wanted to say without learning how to draw! There was a lot of development, experimentation and several hours spent gathering inspiration on Pinterest, but I got there eventually. I went through bouts of creative block and bursts of inspiration, and went in circles, until I suddenly had this surge of creativity, and designs just came flowing out of me! Finishing my first product was the most amazing feeling, and it was at that point that everything started to fall into place.

I worked solidly for about a month creating my first wave of products, and I planned my final day of photographing, editing and putting my listings online. It was by far the most stressful day throughout the journey (so far), because nothing seemed to be going right. But, as soon as the photographs were taken, and edited the way I wanted them to look, and the listing were ready and prepared, it was time to go online.

It was a very overwhelmingly exciting feeling to think that what I had been working on over the past 2 and a half months was available for the world to look at and buy! I’ve only been open on Esty for a few days, but I feel like this project has been part of my life for so long, and wanted to share a little bit of background as to how the idea formed and where the ideas have been before being created.

If you wanted to have a little nosey around my shop, then feel free, you can get to it by clicking here. I can customise orders, so if you like a pattern, but want to change the quote, I am more than happy to talk about your ideas and make a personalised design. I am also pleased to say that I am able to ship worldwide, so anyone can have access to my products.

I hope you enjoy what I have created, and there will be more designs coming very soon!

Until next time…

Jade 🙂

Leave a Reply

