A Bit of Book Redesign Needed…?

TTT_post_graphic_txt

Top Ten Tuesday was originally started by The Broke And The Bookish, where a topic is given every Tuesday and the blogger then produces a top ten list of books to fit the weekly subject. The hosts are currently on a break from TTT, so I’ve decided to go back through the topic archives to find things to write about until we begin again for real. The topic this week is ‘Book Covers I Want To Redesign‘. I did a post a few weeks ago about my favourite book covers, so here is the reverse. These are book covers I have come across over my many years of reading that I have been barely able to look at, hiding them away on my shelf and giving them away as soon as I have finished reading them. Unfortunately, some of these books have been really enjoyable, and I hate it when I am deterred from a great book because of the design. Also, lots of books now have different editions with different cover designs, so I will mainly be focusing on the covers that I have personally come across that I would like to redesign if given the chance…

Going Bovine by Libba Bray

6512140

I have heard so many good things about this book, and I can’t quite put my finger on it, but the cover has never appealed to me as something I would want to read. It gives off some really odd vibes, I would probably stick to something a bit more simple and focused on typography rather than introducing a weird atmosphere with the inclusion on a standing cow!

 

 

 

Her by Harriet Lane

her

Since I first laid eyes on this cover, I hated it! It took a lot to pick it up in Waterstones, and I mainly did because it was the next best mystery and ‘Book of the Month’. The description intrigued me, which seems to override my hatred for the cover, but I really didn’t like having it on my bookshelf. It clashed with everything, and stood out for all the wrong reasons. Worst of all, when I got round to reading it, I didn’t even enjoy it that much. I was glad to get rid of it!

 

 

The Confessions series by James Patterson

img_0106

I loved this book series! It was absolutely brilliant, and made me want to read more and more of Patterson’s writing. However, one of my pet hates when it comes to cover design is using people on the cover. It detracts from what a reader loves doing, which is using their imagination to picture the character’s appearance. If there is already someone on the cover, then how am I meant to have any input into what this character looks like? Don’t even get me started on movie tie-in editions!!

 

The Selection Series

10507293

Don’t get me wrong, on first glance, these covers are really pretty, and I’m not necessarily saying that I dislike them completely. I do however, dislike the use of people on the cover! What is wrong with designers eradicating reader’s imaginative ability and giving them what they think the character should look like? No, just no, please stop!

 

 

 

Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy by Cassandra Clare, Sarah Rees Brennan, Marueen Johnson and Robin Wasserman

32718466

Again with the people on the cover! I know most Shadowhunter books have included people on the cover, but they have been done in a way that still leaves a lot up to the imagination, such as not showing faces, and adding more details to focus on. Here, however, most of the cover is face, and it’s not how I want to picture the particular character. Don’t use people on the cover!!

 

 

 

Confessions by Kanae Minato

confessions

So a book cover that doesn’t have a single person on it, and I don’t know what it is about the book, I just feel it looks like not a lot of work has gone into it. Don’t get me wrong, I understand someone has probably worked hard on the design, but I feel like they could have done a lot more with it.

 

 

 

 

Organ/Soul Reapers by Shay West

23365359

These books are amazing! I was sent them by the publisher and was completely blown away by the storyline and character development, and the writing in general was amazing for an author is not very well known, but the cover definitely did not do this justice. Everything from the photography and image editing to the use of typography would have definitely put me off if I had seen it in a bookshop! This is the perfect example of why we shouldn’t judge books by their covers!

 

 

Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

1217100

More people on the cover! Need I say more? It just puts me off.

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Divergent Series by Veronica Roth

Allegiant_DemiJacket_WetProofTest.inddThere are many different covers for the Divergent series, but the covers I read were the kind I would steer clear of in the book store. The images were not well put together, using stock imagery for the most part, and the typography really didn’t do it any justice either!

 

 

 

 

Me Before You

13373663

Okay, so the cover design is nice for this one. It’s cute and the colour and typographic choices were well made, but the reason I would redesign this cover is because it gives off the wrong vibe for the story. It makes it out to be an adorable contemporary where two people fall in love and live happily ever after, but there is so much more to it than that, and I just don’t feel like it is fully communicated through either version of the cover.

 

 

What do you think? Are there any here that you disagree with, or any books on your shelf that you would jump at the chance to redesign? Let me know in the comments!

Until next time…

Jade 🙂

4 thoughts on “A Bit of Book Redesign Needed…?

  1. Hi BookMuffin.
    Good calls on these covers.
    A good book cover needs to accurately tell the story of what is within.

    I have a book series. There are ten in the series now, but at the sixth book, I knew I needed to go back and work out a few things. The books are whimsical, paranormal, steampunk adventures, but the covers did not at first portray that, Here is an article on my corrections:
    http://ichabodtemperance.com/wp/?p=150

    Here is my Amazon page with all ten books:
    https://www.amazon.com/Ichabod-Temperance/e/B00J71862M/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1500918277&sr=1-2-ent

    Happy Reading!
    ~Icky. 🙂

    Like

  2. I enjoyed reading your thoughts on these covers. I read Going Bovine years ago, before Libba Bray had a big following, and I have to admit, it was the cover that made me pick it up. The book is definitely odd but once you read it, in my opinion, it’s a total fit. However, maybe a redesign would cause more people to pick it up. I think it’s under-read and under-appreciated. You hit the nail on the head with Me Before You too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

