Hamilton: The Book Tag (ft. a lot of Shadowhunters…)

TFTags_post_graphic_txt
Hello fellow bookworms and welcome to this month’s tag post! I have seen so many people do the Hamilton Book Tag, bloggers and book-tubers alike, and I just could not resist the opportunity! If you’ve been living under a rock and you haven’t heard of Hamilton, it is one of the greatest musicals of all time! It follows Alexander Hamilton through his life as one of the founding fathers of America, and tells the story of how he came to be the person he was, formed by the other characters around him. Oh, and did I mention it was written by Lin Manuel Miranda who is a lyrical genius of hip-hop and rap music? I am so in love with Hamilton beyond words, and being able to combine it with my love of books is just the perfect post for me, so before I melt into a Hamilton-shaped puddle because of my love for it, let’s get on with the tag!

Please be aware there will be spoilers ahead for the following books: Clockwork Princess, The Fault In Our Stars, City of Heavenly Fire, Lady Midnight and the Harry Potter series.

The Room Where It Happens

A Book World You Would Put Yourself Into

This is definitely not a difficult one for me, and probably most people, as I have to go with the majority vote and say The Wizarding World! Most, if not all, of the Hamilton Book Tags I’ve read have listed this in response to this first question! If I wanted to be slightly less cliché, I would choose the Shadow World from the Shadowhunter Chronicles, but I probably have more chance of dying there so… that’s my 2nd choice!

The Schuyler Sisters

An Underrated Femaleimg_0195

I had a good think about this one, because I feel like every book I read, I fully appreciate all of the characters, but thinking outside into the book community, I’m going to choose Charlotte from The Infernal Devices series. Tessa is the main female character in this trilogy, and while Charlotte does play quite a big role, especially in the final book, I rarely hear people talk about how amazing she is! She’s the head of the Institute and then becomes Consul, for goodness sake, surely that deserves some recognition!

My Shot

A Character That Goes After What They Want


Sticking with the Shadowhunter theme, I chose Emma and Julian from The Dark Artifices series. In Lady Midnight especially, Emma is particularly persistent and doesn’t let the Clave get in her way of investigating the mysterious death of her parents. Julian is constantly doing whatever he can to protect the children, and doesn’t let anyone stop him.

Burn

The Most Heartbreaking End To A Relationship


I have two for this one, a romantic relationship, and a friendship, because all -ships are important! My chosen relationship is Hazel and Gus from The Fault In Our Stars, because of course the physical end of that relationship was the most heart-breaking you could ever read! But when I first saw this question, it was the friendship that came to mind, and that was Clary and Simon’s relationship at the end of City of Heavenly Fire. I was in floods of tears and I still can’t believe Cassandra Clare would put us through that much pain! Still, it kind of gets better in Shadowhunter Academy…

You’ll Be Back

Sassiest Villain

67433ffd13a4df5313f21b998007d960--witch-hazel-flower-cards
Shadowhunters keeps coming up in this tag, but I have to choose Malcolm Fade in Lady Midnight! Even though he had villainous intentions, he could be so funny throughout his time with the Blackthorns! A moment that really stands out is when they order vampire pizza and watch romantic films, and Malcolm is just hilarious in this scene! 😂

The Reynolds Pamphlet

The Twist You Didn’t See Coming

There are plenty of books I’ve read with unexpected twists, but for this one I have three of my most recent reads. We Were Liars, I was expecting a twist, but never guessed when or what the actual twist was! Lord of Shadows had plenty of twists and turns throughout the plot line as well, which were quite unexpected. I recently re-read The Fault In Our Stars, and thinking back to my first time reading it, I never guessed the fate of the main characters, and was sure it would be the reverse of what it actually was. I consider that quite a large twist in my book!

Non-Stop

A Series You Marathoned


Another one for the Shadowhunters, and of course I binge read The Mortal Instruments with The Infernal Devices (in publication order) because it’s really hard not too! Once you have been sucked into the world, it’s so difficult to leave! Which reminds me, I almost marathoned the Harry Potter series, but I’m sure everyone has at some point…

Satisfied

Favourite Book With Multiple POVs

17208924
When I came to this question, I realised I’ve only read (and enjoyed) one book with mixed POVs, where each chapter was from a different characters perspective, and that one was Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan. I really liked it when I could actually get into it, and was a lovely summer read! Especially interesting with the two POVs coming together!

Who Lives, Who Dies, Who Tells Your Story

A Book or Series You Feel Will Be Remembered Throughout History

72193
Harry Potter, no question! This series will never die and live on through generations. It will be considered the greatest classic of all time in 50 years or so!

Stay Alive

A Character You Wish Was Still Alive

There are plenty of characters that died on me unnecessarily, but there are some that really hurt me in ways that are unimaginable. Augustus Waters was the star-crossed (fictional) love of my life and did not deserve the end he got! WHY DOES JOHN GREEN HAVE TO BE SO MEAN AND MAKE ME FALL IN LOVE WITH A CHARACTER JUST TO BREAK MY HEART??!! It’s not fair!! Of course we can’t ignore this question without paying tribute to all those who fell fighting evil for the greater good in the Harry Potter series, namely Fred, Dobby and Sirius. All of these deaths were completely unnecessary in my eyes! There was no reason Fred and Dobby had to die, it only made the end of the series hurt so much more! As for Sirius, WHY, JK ROWLING, DID YOU HAVE TO TAKE AWAY THE ONLY PERSON HARRY HAD AS A FATHER FIGURE AWAY FROM HIM? WHY?! Again, highly unnecessary.

Thank you so much for reading, I hope you enjoyed and I sincerely apologise for the amount of times Shadowhunters happened to appear in this post! Are there any here that you agree with? What would you put in your own Hamilton book tag? Let me know in the comments!

Until next time…

Jade 🙂

SaveSave

Leave a Reply

