How I Make Time For Reading…

discuss_post_graphic_txt

Hello fellow bookworms! It’s Sunday, which means it’s discussion time. This is when I write to think more deeply about books, why we read, and why literature is so important in our lives. To be quite honest with you, I felt my previous discussion topics for this month wasn’t really exciting me to write, so I’m just winging it for now until I find my feet. I’m back at uni, and being in my final year means I’m already drowning in work, so I thought today’s post should be something I’m thinking about a lot lately… how am I going to find time to read? People often say ‘how to you find the time to read that many books?’, but I don’t find time, I make time. I AM THE CREATOR OF TIME! Honestly though, if you want to be reading 50+ books in a year, you have to make time to sit and read, and not just read as a last resort. Here are some of the ways I make time in my busy schedule for the all important literature in my life…

Read During Breakfast

I know a lot of people don’t eat breakfast, but I wake up hungry, so eating is one of the first things I do in the morning. While I’m having my morning toast and cup of tea, I like to immerse myself in a book. I wake up slightly earlier than I need to, so I can make sure I have plenty of time to do this, even if it’s just a few pages. Some people I’ve spoken to don’t like reading and eating because they get crumbs in their book, but I have become skilled at avoiding this. Practice makes perfect (I’ve learnt this after staining several books with Marmite!) It’s also great for when you’re home alone and don’t really have anything else to do during meal times (I used to read whilst eating lunch and dinner as well when I was living away from home).

Read in the Bath

I tend to only bath once a week now (and before you say it, yes, I do shower every day, I don’t just wash once a week!) but it provides great time for reading! What else are you going to do sitting in a bath? If I’m really into a book, and don’t really have a lot else going on, I can allow myself 40 mins to 1 hour just chilling in the water with a novel. Doing this once a week is great for some alone time as well, and time away from any work/school worries you may have. Grab some nice bath oils or take a trip to Lush for a bath bomb, and immerse yourself in bubbles and a really good book!

Be Early

I leave for uni in the morning at 7:30AM, and arrive between 8:30 and 8:45, depending on traffic. My classes don’t start until 10AM, but if I don’t get there early, I can wave goodbye to any chance of getting a parking space! This is perfect for me though, because it means I can either go to the library to get some work done, or spend and hour and a half sitting in my car catching up on some reading. Pack a pillow and spread out on the back seat, cherish the peacefulness of your vehicle, and get reading! This is the same being early for anything. If I’m early for work, I can chill in the staff room with my book, or meeting a friend, there will always be time for a few pages if they’re running late!

AudioBooks

A few months ago, this heading would never have made an appearance in a post like this, but I have recently come to the conclusion that audiobooks are remarkable things. I found I could never really concentrate on them if I was doing something else, and this is still partly true. However, walking to work takes about half an hour (perfect for a chapter or two), and as I said earlier, it takes me a good hour, if not longer, to drive to uni. That’s an extra 2 hours of ‘reading’ a day that I’m getting through, without having to pick up a book! Some people don’t count it towards actual reading, and I never used to, but it’s pretty much exactly the same, instead of reading the words, your listening to someone else read them for you. It’s just like to listening to your own voice reading them in your head… kind of! I know my way to uni like the back of my hand now, so apart from concentrating on traffic and what’s going on on the road, I can still pay attention to the story playing through my radio. It’s also much more preferable to listening to music I’ve heard several thousand times over (apart from Hamilton, no one gets sick of listening to Hamilton!)

Read in the Evening

Dedicate your day to working. Get all of your school work done during the day, and commit to as little or as much time as you want, so then, when it comes to the evening, you don’t feel guilty about snuggling down in bed early with your current read. Don’t laugh at me, but most days, I can be in bed by 8PM, which gives me a good 2 hours before I have to think about going to sleep. I know that I’ve worked my socks off during the day, and this is my treat at the end of it!

So all in all, let’s break down how much potential reading time I have in my day, as well as keeping up with uni work (not counting the bath, I’m not lucky enough to have the luxury of time every day!):

Breakfast- 30 mins

Being Early- 1 hour

Car Journey- 2 hours

Evening- 2 hours

So even with my packed schedule, I can still have a good 5 and half hours of reading in the day. I’m not saying I get that every day, because life gets in the way sometimes, and I’m sure I’m not the first to admit I get addicted to YouTube from time to time, or have TV binges once in a while, but this is a good aim for me to have, and of course, weekends sometimes open up the possibility to get more reading done!

I hope you have found this post somewhat insightful, and maybe thought about some new ways you can incorporate more reading time into your day. Would love to know if you have any extra tips for me on how you fit reading into your daily routine; let me know in the comments below!

Until next time…

Jade 🙂

10 thoughts on “How I Make Time For Reading…

  1. I wish I didn’t have so much fear about dropping my book into the tub to read during my bathes. Great tips though, I would have never thought of listening to audio books during my commute.

    Like

    • I have been very lucky in the respect, I manage to keep a firm grip on my books! I’m only listening to my first ever audiobook, but it is great to have something to listen to on a long drive ☺️

      Like

  2. I love this!! I haven’t been reading as much, and these tips are really going to help. So often, if I’m early for some place I just scroll through social media, but that could be time reading! I’ve also recently started listening to audiobooks and they’ve really been helping me as well. I tend to listen to them if I’m cleaning or crocheting. 🙂

    Like

    • Ah I’m glad you found them helpful! I must admit I have surrendered to social media scrolling if I’ve been without a book (which I try not to be!) I love audiobooks, I’ll have to see how I get on with listening to a book I haven’t read before, as I’m listening to Deathly Hallows at the moment do I know what’s going on, so if I lose concentration then it’s ok!

      Liked by 1 person

      • So far, I’ve been listening to audiobooks to a lot of nonfiction, and series that I probably wouldn’t finish otherwise. I like the idea of rereading an old favorite. 🙂 I think I’m going to start listening to Dracula for Halloween! There’s this really cool version on Audible for Amazon Prime members that is narrated by a bunch of celebrities, so I think that will be fun to read!

        Like

      • Nice! What is nice about the Amazon Prime stuff for Audible is that it doesn’t use your Audible credits. Right now, since I’m still getting used to audiobooks, between Amazon Prime and my library, I feel like I have enough audiobooks to choose from. I plan on possibly signing up for Audible in the future though. I’m glad you’re liking it!! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Technically NOT a monthly synopsis. Quick and messy life update! (+ a giveaway!) – That Bookshelf Bitch

Leave a Reply

